Headline: Systemic Risks

Modern societies are vulnerable to “systemic risks” such as pandemics, financial crises, or climate change. Due to their complex and interconnected nature, systemic risks pose a particular challenge to conventional approaches to risk analysis and management. The research group on systemic risks at the IASS analyses risks and opportunities around transformation processes for sustainable development and, in a second step, develops policy recommendations for the governance of systemic risks.

What are systemic risks?

Societal transformation processes such as the energy and mobility transitions or digitalisation are closely interlinked and their unfolding is accompanied by the emergence of inherent contradictions. Often, it is necessary to consider both benefit-risk comparisons as well as risk-risk trade-offs. Over the past decades, humankind has learned to deal better with such conventional risks as accidents or floods. However, this is not the case when it comes to interconnected, non-linear risks with global impacts, such as those emanating from the global financial system and climate change, or from the growing inequality between rich and poor. The outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic at the turn of 2019/2020 is a recent example of the type of global risks that pose a threat to the critical infrastructures of societies.

In order to account for these new challenges, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) introduced the category of “systemic risk”. Systemic risks have the potential to precipitate the collapse of an entire system, rather than merely disrupting its individual parts or components. The collapse of a system critical to the functioning of society, such as the health system or energy supply, would impact on other parts of society, inflicting additional damage. Moreover, interactions between nature, technology and society can exacerbate the impacts of conventional natural hazards, such as tsunamis, when these affect densely populated coastal area and critical infrastructure such as nuclear power or electricity generation plants.

Researchers at the IASS view systemic risks as potential threats to entities critical to the functioning of society. Their impacts can extend far beyond the system of origin as their cascading effects ripple through societal systems and functions. Systemic risks are defined by several characteristics that set them apart from conventional risks.

Five key characteristics of systemic risks

Complex events such as systemic risks are distinguished by:

  • a high degree of complexity;
  • cross-border effects (cascade effects);
  • non-linear development and tipping points;
  • long periods of stability following by the rapid collapse of entire systems as tipping points are reached;
  • (often) decreased risk perception and a lack of adequate policy instruments to manage them.

Systemic risks present challenges for governance because they are highly interconnected and complex, unfold in a non-linear fashion and are not deterministic in their cause-effect relationships.

Since systemic risks are characterised by complexity and interdependence, cross-boundary effects, non-linearity, tipping points and delays in regulation and perception, efforts to manage them must focus on building resilience and sustainability in order to be effective. Possible solutions should also reflect the ethical concerns of distributive justice in order to be as equitable as possible to all those affected. Pursuing the goal of sustainable development in this context calls for effective and inclusive governance strategies.

The concept of transdisciplinary risk governance

The concept of transdisciplinary, inclusive risk governance provides a framework for the identification of challenges arising in connection with systemic risks. Transdisciplinary risk governance aims to bring together all relevant types of knowledge – both from within and beyond academia – to find solutions that will facilitate a transformation of society towards resilience and sustainability and to enhance the democratic legitimacy of decision-making processes.

Research on systemic risks at the IASS

The following projects at the IASS explore the challenges presented by systemic risks:

  • Systemic Risks: This research group project aims to identify common structural features of systemic risks such as climate change, financial crises, pandemics and digitalisation, with the goal of developing effective and sustainable governance approaches for risks that threaten the functioning of critical infrastructures and supply systems.
  • Plastic: Social perception and behaviour patterns: Despite the adoption of advanced waste disposal and recycling systems, plastic continues to enter the environment. At the IASS, researchers are studying how the problem of plastics in the environment is perceived and consumer interactions with plastics – from their purchase and use through to disposal. In a second step, they will develop transdisciplinary solutions. This project is part of the BMBF-funded research consortium “Development of New Plastics for a Clean Environment by Determining Relevant Entry Pathways” (ENSURE).
  • REconciling sCience, Innovation and Precaution through the Engagement of Stakeholders (RECIPES): The precautionary principle is supposed to prevent environmental and health risks from arising in the first place by encouraging early and forward-looking action to minimise risks. Critics of the precautionary principle argue, however, that it promotes excessive caution and hinders technological innovation. The RECIPES project aims to analyse how the precautionary principle is applied in the European Union and improve its future application through transdisciplinary and participatory methods.

Headline: Systemische Risiken

Moderne Gesellschaften sind „systemischen Risiken“ ausgesetzt, die als Pandemien, Finanzkrisen oder Klimawandel auftreten. Da sie komplex und vernetzt sind, fordern sie die konventionelle Risikoanalyse und das Risikomanagement besonders heraus. Die Gruppe „Systemische Risiken“ am IASS analysiert Risiken und Potenziale von Transformationsprozessen für die nachhaltige Entwicklung und liefert im nächsten Schritt Politikempfehlungen für die Governance systemischer Risiken.

Was sind systemische Risiken?

Gesellschaftliche Transformationsprozesse wie die Energie- und Mobilitätswende sowie die Digitalisierung sind eng miteinander verknüpft und gehen nicht ohne inhärente Widersprüche vonstatten. Oft gilt es nicht nur, Nutzen-Risiko-Vergleiche vorzunehmen, sondern auch Risiko-Risiko-Abwägungen zu treffen. Mit konventionellen Risiken in Form von Unfällen oder Hochwasser hat die Menschheit in den vergangenen Dekaden immer besser gelernt umzugehen. Anders verhält es sich jedoch bei vernetzten, nichtlinearen und global wirkenden Risiken, wie sie sowohl vom globalen Finanzsystem oder Klimawandel als auch von der wachsenden Ungleichheit zwischen Arm und Reich ausgehen. Der Ausbruch von Covid-19 zur Jahreswende 2019/2020 ist ein aktuelles Beispiel für globale Risiken, die kritische Infrastrukturen einer Gesellschaft bedrohen.

Um diese Arten von Risiken zu berücksichtigen, hat die Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD) die Kategorie des „systemischen Risikos“ eingeführt. Systemische Risiken beziehen sich auf das Risiko von Zusammenbrüchen in einem gesamten System, im Gegensatz zu Zusammenbrüchen in einzelnen Teilen oder Komponenten. Der Kollaps eines für die Gesellschaft relevanten Systems wie etwa die Gesundheits- oder Energieversorgung hat zudem Auswirkungen auf weitere Teile der Gesellschaft, wodurch zusätzliche Schäden hervorgerufen werden. Hinzu kommt, dass die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Natur, Technologie und Gesellschaft konventionelle Naturgefahren, wie beispielsweise Tsunamis, potenziert, wenn sie auf dicht besiedelte Küsten und kritische Infrastrukturen wie auf Atomkraft- oder Elektrizitätswerke treffen. Die für Naturgewalten anfälligen technologischen Infrastrukturen potenzieren die Gefahr dann nochmals.

Systemische Risiken beziehen sich im Verständnis unserer IASS-Teams auf potenzielle Bedrohungen, die systemrelevante Einheiten mit kritischer Bedeutung für die Gesellschaft unter Druck setzen. Die Auswirkungen von systemischen Risiken können durch Kaskadeneffekte weit über das Herkunftssystem hinausreichen und andere Systeme sowie Funktionen der Gesellschaft betreffen. Darüber hinaus können systemische Risiken durch mehrere Eigenschaften beschrieben werden, die sie von konventionellen Risiken unterscheiden.

Fünf Hauptmerkmale von systemischen Risiken

Komplexe Ereignisse wie systemische Risiken lassen sich erkennen:

  • an der hohen Komplexität
  • an grenzüberschreitenden Auswirkungen (Kaskadeneffekte)
  • an der nicht-linearen Entwicklung mit Kipppunkten
  • an der langen Stabilität bis zu einem Wendepunkt mit raschem Zusammenbruch des Gesamtsystems
  • an tendenziell verminderter Risikowahrnehmung und inadäquaten Politikinstrumenten zur Steuerung von systemischen Risiken.

Dabei wird offensichtlich, dass systemische Risiken eine Herausforderung für das Regieren darstellen, weil sie hochgradig vernetzt und komplex sind sowie non-linearen Entwicklungen folgen und in ihren Ursache-Wirkungs-Beziehungen nicht deterministisch sind.

Da sich systemische Risiken durch Komplexität und Interdependenz, Grenzüberschreitungen, Nicht-Linearität, Kipppunkte und Verzögerungen bei der Regulierung und Wahrnehmung auszeichnen, muss sich ein effektives Risikomanagement an Resilienz und Nachhaltigkeit orientieren. Erarbeitete Lösungen sollten zudem ethische Belange der Verteilungsgerechtigkeit reflektieren, um allen Betroffenen möglichst gerecht werden. So werden effektive, inklusive Governance-Strategien notwendig, um die Ziele der nachhaltigen Entwicklung zu verfolgen. Während beispielsweise wissenschaftliche Daten über den Klimawandel und seine Folgen reichlich vorhanden sind, fehlt es noch an Strukturen und Prozessen, die eine sinnvolle Integration in Entscheidungs- und Politikprozesse ermöglichen.

Das Konzept der transdisziplinären Risiko-Governance

Das Konzept der integrativen Risiko-Governance dient als Orientierungsrahmen, um die Herausforderungen von systemischen Risiken zu identifizieren. Transdisziplinäre Risiko-Governance zielt auf die Zusammenführung aller relevanten Arten von Wissen ab - sowohl innerhalb als auch außerhalb der Wissenschaft -, um Lösungen für eine an Nachhaltigkeit und Resilienz ausgerichtete Gesellschaftstransformation zu finden und die demokratische Legitimität von Entscheidungsfindungsprozessen zu erhöhen.

Forschung zu Systemischen Risiken am IASS

Die folgenden Projekte am IASS untersuchen unter dem Dach der Gruppe „Systemische Risiken“ die Herausforderungen, die durch systemische Risiken entstehen:

  • Systemische Risiken: Das Projekt identifiziert gemeinsame Strukturmerkmale von systemischen Risiken wie Klimawandel, Finanzkrise, Pandemie und Digitalisierung. Das Forschungsziel: Eine nachhaltige und verbesserte Governance beim Umgang mit Risiken, welche die Funktionsfähigkeit kritischer Infrastrukturen und Versorgungssysteme bedrohen.
  • Gesellschaftliche Wahrnehmungs- und Verhaltensmuster im Umgang mit Plastik: Trotz moderner Müllentsorgung und Recycling geraten Kunststoffe in die Umwelt. Am IASS untersuchen Forschende die Wahrnehmung der Problematik von Plastik in der Umwelt sowie das Kauf-, Nutzungs- und Entsorgungsverhalten. Auf dieser Basis erarbeiten sie transdisziplinäre Lösungsansätze.
  • Wissenschaft, Innovation und Vorsorge durch Partizipation (RECIPES): Das Vorsorgeprinzip soll verhindern, dass Gefahren für Umwelt und menschliche Gesundheit überhaupt erst entstehen: Frühzeitig und vorausschauend handeln, um Risiken zu minimieren ist das Motto. Kritiker des Vorsorgeprinzips argumentieren, dass es zu übermäßiger Vorsicht verleite und dadurch technische Innovation verhindere. Im Projekt RECIPES wird die Umsetzung des Vorsorgeprinzips in der EU analysiert, um seine künftige Anwendung mittels transdisziplinärer und partizipativer Methoden zu verbessern.