Headline: Governance

News

New study on air pollution exposure in metropolitan areas

"Bad Atmosphere" on City Cycle Lanes

The cause of millions of premature deaths annually, air pollution is a global challenge. It affects both developing and developed countries, with cities, in particular, struggling to meet air quality standards. A new study by a team of researchers at the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS) investigates air pollutant concentrations in urban areas and the factors that affect air quality. The study includes a number of recommendations that will interest urban planners and citizens alike.

read more
Award

Order of Merit Awarded to IASS Director

Eighteen people were recently awarded the Order of Merit of the federal state of Baden-Württemberg by Governor Winfried Kretschmann. Professor Ortwin Renn, Scientific Director at the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS) was among them. Renn was honoured for his outstanding contribution to the transfer of scientific insights into politics, public administration and management and his unstinting commitment to a just and sustainable economic and social order.

read more
Interview

Governance for Future Generations

In recent months young people across the world have been going on strike on Fridays to protest about their governments’ failure to adequately address the climate crisis. In their view, lack of political action to protect the climate is putting their future in jeopardy. But Wales is leading by example here with a law passed in 2015 that echoes the demands of the Fridays for Future protesters: the Well-being for Future Generations Act. It requires public authorities in Wales to consider the long-term effects of their decisions and make sustainable development a touchstone for policymaking.

read more

Blog Posts

Beyond coal: fostering the low-carbon transition in Lusatia

Roll up your sleeves, seize every opportunity and take the future by the horns! Surely that is the best way to approach the transformation of the economy in the region of Lusatia? Played up by policymakers, this upbeat narrative is indeed vital to the success of what is a mammoth undertaking. But so too are the experiences of people and institutions across the region. As scientists working in the field of sustainable development, we must consider the broader social context of efforts to foster a less-resource intensive economy and way of life in Lusatia.

read more

Headline: Governance

News

Studie zur Luftqualität beim Radfahren in urbanen Ballungsräumen

„Dicke Luft“ auf Radwegen in Städten

Luftverschmutzung ist eine globale Herausforderung, die jährlich Millionen vorzeitige Todesfälle verursacht. In städtischen Ballungsräumen ist die Luftbelastung besonders hoch. Ein Team vom IASS untersucht die Schadstoffkonzentrationen von Städten und welche Faktoren die Luftqualität beeinflussen. Es sind Empfehlungen für die Stadt- und Verkehrsplanung entstanden, die aber auch für Bürgerinnen und Bürger interessant sind.

Mehr erfahren
Auszeichnung

Verdienstorden für IASS-Direktor

Ministerpräsident Winfried Kretschmann hat 18 Persönlichkeiten mit dem Verdienstorden seines Bundeslandes ausgezeichnet. Unter den Geehrten ist auch Professor Ortwin Renn, wissenschaftlicher Direktor am Institut für transformative Nachhaltigkeitsforschung (IASS). Besonders hervorzuheben seien seine Verdienste in der Umsetzung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in Politik, Verwaltung und Management.

Mehr erfahren
Im Interview

Regierungsführung für künftige Generationen

Gegen die Klimapolitik ihrer Länder demonstrieren seit geraumer Zeit Jugendliche. Der mangelhafte Einsatz der Politik für effizienten Klimaschutz führe sie in eine nicht lebenswerte Zukunft, so die Kritik. Dabei schreitet Wales seit 2015 beispielhaft voran mit einem Gesetz, das der Mahnung der Fridays-for-Future-Jugend Rechnung trägt: Das Gesetz zum Wohlergehen künftiger Generationen. Es fordert von Entscheidungsträgern öffentlicher Stellen die langfristigen Auswirkungen ihrer Beschlüsse zu bedenken und stellt die nachhaltige Entwicklung in den Fokus.

Mehr erfahren

Blog Posts

Strukturwandel in der Lausitz: Blühende Landschaften reloaded?

Ärmel hochkrempeln, Chancen sehen, die Zukunft bei den Hörnern packen! Ist das nicht der Weg, den Strukturwandel in der Lausitz zu bewältigen? Ohne diese optimistische Einstellung, die politisch präsentiert wird, kann es nicht gehen. Aber ohne ein Verständnis für Erfahrungen der Bürger und Institutionen in der Region auch nicht. Gerade wir als Wissenschaftler*innen, denen Nachhaltigkeit ein Anliegen ist, müssen uns mit den sozialen Gegebenheiten beschäftigen, auf deren Grundlage bzw. durch deren Weiterentwicklung ressourcenschonendes Leben und Wirtschaften möglich wird.

Mehr erfahren