Headline: Fellows

Symposium

One Planet, One Health

In the face of a changing climate and widespread environmental destruction it is difficult to envision a future in which healthy people inhabit a healthy planet. Strategies to safeguard planetary health were the subject of an IASS symposium on the occasion of the inaugural "Klaus Töpfer Sustainability Fellowship" on 6 November in Berlin.

read more
Interview

Tackling Disinformation on Climate Change

To avert devastating climate change impacts, we need to make dramatic lifestyle changes. Lance Bennett, Professor of Political Science and Communication at the University of Washington and currently IASS Senior Fellow, explains how better communication can help us succeed in changing course.

read more
Interview

Climate Action Takes Shape in Israel

David Dunetz has worked for 20 years at the Heschel Center for Sustainability in Tel Aviv, which leads the Israel Climate Forum, a consortium of civil society organizations. As a Visiting Research Fellow at the IASS Potsdam on a joint program with the Israel Public Policy Institute, he is currently researching how civic engagement and participation processes can advance climate policy and democratic innovation.

read more
Interview with EU expert

“The SDGs have become ‘Chefsache’ in many European countries”

The European Union (EU) is currently finding its bearings after the recent elections, and the jostling for top positions is in full swing. Regardless of the outcome, sustainability is likely to play a stronger role in future EU policy. Now for the first time, the EU will report to the UN High-Level Political Forum on progress in implementing the SDGs. Senior Fellow Ingeborg Niestroy has closely monitored the EU’s sustainability policy over the last twenty years and just presented the IASS Science Platform Sustainability 2030 at this 'HLPF'. In the following interview, she talks about a study she led on the sustainability strategies of the EU member states.

read more
Interview

Governance for Future Generations

In recent months young people across the world have been going on strike on Fridays to protest about their governments’ failure to adequately address the climate crisis. In their view, lack of political action to protect the climate is putting their future in jeopardy. But Wales is leading by example here with a law passed in 2015 that echoes the demands of the Fridays for Future protesters: the Well-being for Future Generations Act. It requires public authorities in Wales to consider the long-term effects of their decisions and make sustainable development a touchstone for policymaking.

read more

Blog Posts

Sustainability requires economic deceleration, which requires a universal basic income

The German naturalist, writer, and statesman Alexander von Humboldt taught that all things are truly connected to everything else; that our entire world is an interwoven tapestry. The only way to ensure a dignified life for all, without poverty and hardship, is to make climate change and the limits of global resources central criteria in all political and economic decisions. One proposed solution to the growing problem of poverty is unconditional basic income (UBI).

read more

Headline: Fellows

Symposium

Ein Planet, eine Gesundheit

Gesunde Menschen auf einem gesunden Planeten - das ist angesichts von Klimawandel und fortschreitender Umweltzerstörung eine gewaltige Herausforderung. Um Strategien für die planetare Gesundheit ging es bei einem IASS-Symposium anlässlich des neu geschaffenen „Klaus Töpfer Sustainability Fellowship“ am 6. November in Berlin.

Mehr erfahren
Institut

Mentoring-Programm für wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs

Ein neues Mentoring-Programm führt am IASS Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden mit Fellows zusammen. Mit ihrem Wissen und ihrer Erfahrung unterstützen die Fellows – hochqualifizierte Personen aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft – den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs bei der Promotion und Karriereplanung.

Mehr erfahren
Fellowship

IASS heißt erste Klaus-Töpfer-Stipendiatin willkommen

Die brasilianische Gesundheitsexpertin Nicole de Paula ist die erste Inhaberin des neu geschaffenen "Klaus Töpfer Sustainability Fellowship". Die 36-Jährige überzeugte eine international besetzte Auswahlkommission sowohl mit ihren wissenschaftlichen Referenzen als auch mit ihren Erfahrungen in der Politikberatung und der Zusammenarbeit mit UN-Institutionen.

Mehr erfahren
Interview

Klimaschutz in Israel nimmt Gestalt an

David Dunetz ist seit 20 Jahren für das Heschel Center for Sustainability in Tel Aviv tätig, das die Israel Climate Alliance und viele Konsortien aus Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft koordiniert. Aktuell untersucht er als Gastforscher am IASS Potsdam im Rahmen eines Programms mit dem Israel Public Policy Institute, wie Bürgerbeteiligung die Klimapolitik und demokratische Innovationen voranbringen kann.

Mehr erfahren
EU-Expertin im Interview

„In vielen Ländern wurden die SDGs zur Chefsache“

Die Europäische Union (EU) sortiert sich neu und ringt um die Spitzenpositionen. Wie es auch ausgeht, Nachhaltigkeitspolitik dürfte eine stärkere Rolle spielen. Nun wird die EU beim UN High-Level Political Forum erstmals über die SDGs berichten. Senior Fellow Ingeborg Niestroy befasst sich seit zwanzig Jahren mit EU-Nachhaltigkeitspolitik und hat gerade bei diesem globalen Forum die Wissenschaftsplattform Nachhaltigkeit 2030 vom IASS vorgestellt. Ein Gespräch über eine von ihr geleitete Analyse zur Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie aller EU-Länder.

Mehr erfahren
Im Interview

Regierungsführung für künftige Generationen

Gegen die Klimapolitik ihrer Länder demonstrieren seit geraumer Zeit Jugendliche. Der mangelhafte Einsatz der Politik für effizienten Klimaschutz führe sie in eine nicht lebenswerte Zukunft, so die Kritik. Dabei schreitet Wales seit 2015 beispielhaft voran mit einem Gesetz, das der Mahnung der Fridays-for-Future-Jugend Rechnung trägt: Das Gesetz zum Wohlergehen künftiger Generationen. Es fordert von Entscheidungsträgern öffentlicher Stellen die langfristigen Auswirkungen ihrer Beschlüsse zu bedenken und stellt die nachhaltige Entwicklung in den Fokus.

Mehr erfahren

Blog Posts

Nachhaltigkeit braucht Entschleunigung braucht Grundeinkommen

Von Alexander von Humboldt wissen wir, dass nun wirklich alles mit allem zusammenhängt, alles miteinander verwoben ist. Ein würdevolles Leben für alle, ohne Armut und Not, kann nur ein Leben sein, in dem die Begrenztheit der weltweiten Ressourcen und der Klimawandel wesentlicher Maßstab des Handelns sind. Eine Antwort auf das steigende Armutsrisiko ist das bedingungslose Grundeinkommen.

Mehr erfahren