Headline: Covid-19

COBENEFITS-Factsheet

Covid-19 Crisis: Renewables Can Help to Unburden Health Care Systems and Restart Economies

Economies around the world have been severely affected by the Covid-19 pandemic. Substantial political efforts will be needed to stabilize employment markets and relieve pressure on health systems. Renewable energy generation can provide important stimuli for efforts to achieve these goals. A team of researchers with the COBENEFITS project at the IASS has analysed the potential benefits of decarbonizing the energy sector.

read more
How is Covid-19 affecting the global economic order?

Scenarios for the Global Monetary System

Supply chains collapse, companies are facing bankruptcy, and mass unemployment ensues. Covid-19 has triggered a global financial crisis and is forcing states to develop rescue packages on a scale not seen before. In addition, the crisis has called into question the US dollar's hegemony and could redefine the global monetary system. A team of researchers from the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS) has developed four scenarios that show how political decisions will shape the post-Corona world.

read more
Coronavirus pandemic

IASS Discussion Paper: Rethinking the Rules of Reality

The coronavirus must have many consequences: In the short term, we need to flatten the curve, so that our health system is not overburdened. We must take care of the sick and prevent vulnerable groups from becoming infected. In the longer term, we will have to rethink the rules of reality. Klaus Töpfer Sustainability Fellow Nicole de Paula describes in a new IASS Discussion Paper how, despite all the sadness, fear, bewilderment and frustration generated by the pandemic, it could paradoxically promote planetary health.

read more
Edited volume

An Unconditional Basic Income for a Sustainable Society

Could an unconditional basic income foster freedom and equal opportunity, curb the excesses of an age of acceleration and help to conserve our finite natural resources? The freelance curator, author, theorist and activist Adrienne Goehler has studied this question as an IASS Fellow. Her recently published book "Nachhaltigkeit braucht Entschleunigung braucht Grundein/auskommen" presents essays, interviews, stories, diagrams and artistic interventions from a range of authors.

read more

Blog Posts

Coronavirus

New forms of cooperation between science and business

Crises create the space and time for us to question long-held beliefs and to debate new possibilities. The current crisis shows more clearly than ever before the need for new and previously unimagined – or seemingly impossible – solutions to advance the transformation of our societies towards sustainability. And it needs people with the ability to make these new ideas reality. Little has been made of the potential benefits of cooperation between science and business in such vital areas as mobility and energy transitions. Pooling expertise from science and business, and involving political decision-makers, non-governmental organizations, and the public in relevant debates, could unlock previously untapped potentials for sustainability transformations.

read more
Coronavirus

A Tale of the Golden Goose and the Ugly Duckling: Impacts of the Pandemic on the Argentinean Energy Sector

Argentina is among the countries hardest hit by the social and economic consequences of the current pandemic. The ECLAC is predicting the worst economic crisis in the history of Latin America, with a fall in GDP of over 5% and millions more people pushed into poverty. Argentina, which is currently renegotiating its massive external debt, could suffer a drop in GDP of 6.5% or more. In order to mitigate the impacts of the crisis, the government is responding with some immediate relief measures – tax deferrals, subsidies for low-income families, and special financial measures for different sectors including energy – as well as planning a quite ambitious recovery program. The decisions that are being taken today are likely to have a profound effect on the energy sector for decades to come. These decisions are influenced by visions and narratives associated with different sectors, with oil and gas being the “golden goose” and renewables the “ugly duckling”.

read more
Pandemic

Lack of Clean Cooking Energy Aggravates Coronavirus Impact in Africa

Around the world the coronavirus pandemic has disrupted life as we know it. However, it is important not to lose sight of the fact that the coronavirus exists on top of many underlying health, social, and economic inequalities, and vulnerabilities. While cases have remained low in most countries in Africa, the actual situation is not known, especially due to the lack of testing abilities and limited data. The best hope for African countries is to be spared by the coronavirus, but in truth, people are already suffering from the burdens of stringent lockdown measures imposed to contain the spread of the virus.

read more
Pandemic

The mask in the Coronavirus crisis: a symbol of risk perception, politeness and community spirit

Alongside the increase in the number of Coronavirus-infected people, perhaps the biggest change in Germany in the last few weeks has been the change in the perception of the risk of the virus. A good symbol for this ongoing transformation is the mask. The assessment of its benefit has developed very dynamically, not only in the medical field but also among politicians and citizens. A small piece of cloth therefore represents something bigger, which will raise interesting questions for future research in various fields, such as medicine, law and social sciences.

read more
Coronavirus

Germany’s Covid-19 response is not gender-just: here is why

On April 15th, the German government announced plans for a step-wise re-opening of economic and social life after a 5-week Corona “lockdown.” In a first step, shops smaller than 800 square meters as well as car dealerships and bicycle shops have reopened under strict hygiene and anti-crowding conditions. In early May, schools will begin to re-open, with priority given to classes that need to graduate to the next level.

read more
Coronavirus

Will the pandemic widen the global digital divide?

Many countries are riding a wave of digitalization in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic, with office staff working from home, friends meeting on video conferencing platforms, online trade booming and governments rolling out tracing apps to track infection chains. However, developing and emerging countries could suffer setbacks in their efforts to strengthen their economies and societies through the adoption of digital technologies. Now more than ever, states must double down on efforts to ensure a globally just digital transition.

read more
Coronavirus

Crises as climate catalysts

The Corona crisis has strongly reduced CO2 emissions. Such short-term effects are nice, but mean little for climate protection. However, we know from past crises that they can speed up transformation processes. With the right policy responses, the crisis can be a turning point to carbon-neutrality.

read more
Coronavirus

Lessons from the Corona Crisis for sustainable crisis management

Not since the Second World War has German society experienced a challenge to society that compares to the current global pandemic. While it is not possible at this point to fully assess the implications of this crisis for public health, the economic and society, the measures and regulations adopted to date are unprecedented in post-war German history in terms of their scope and impact on citizens across the country.

read more
Coronavirus

Investment in the Future: How a Green Covid-19 Stimulus Package Can Advance the Energy Transition

The corona crisis is not only threatening our health; it’s also shaking our economic systems to the core. A fall of global stock markets by as much as35 per centin the first quarter of this year means that a recession is imminent. The energy sector is also affected, with the price of oil plummetingand renewable energies also facing difficulties. Coronavirus infections, prolonged curfews, short-time work, and border closures are all affecting the supply chains of wind and solar energy technologies. Investment has all but dried up. In this situation we can learn from the experience of tackling previous economic crises and should opt for a “green” stimulus package in a three-step government programme of relief, recovery and reform. To accelerate and bolster the energy transition, all of the measures implemented in these three steps need to be scrutinised for their long-term viability.

read more
Coronavirus

Safety First? Core Values in the Discourse of Sustainability

In the concluding part of Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam trilogy, set in an unspecified but not too distant future, an artificially designed virus brings humankind to the verge of extinction. Told over long stretches through the flashbacks of the few remaining survivors, the pandemic, short and devastating, is what holds the plot together. Yet it’s not the pandemic that I’m reminded of in the midst of the corona crisis, but rather the social conditions in which it plays out. In Atwood’s dystopia, high-tech production centres are surrounded by gated communities where the business and technology elites live in sheltered luxury. Beyond these compounds, in the so-called pleeblands, most people are at the mercy of criminality and the whims of private security services, as well as being subject to higher mortality due to sporadic, localised epidemics. When the ultimate virus strikes, it wreaks havoc in the absence of solidarity and a functioning state.

read more
Pandemic

Coronavirus shows it’s time to get strategic about renewable energy technology

The international health crisis has exposed a serious problem for energy systems – we’re not taking renewable energy technology seriously as a critical asset. Most solar panels today are made in China, and a shortage of key components means that Europe is now facing major delays in new installations. Wind power faces a double whammy – manufacturing is down, and countries may not have the personnel and parts locally to keep systems running. Countries should aim to build up national clean tech infrastructure in the same way that they ensure strategic reserves of fossil fuels.

read more
Coronavirus

Towards a post-Covid-19 new development paradigm: The Planetary Health solution

Humans are intrinsically connected to the natural environment. This fundamental truth has been neglected by the way we conceive our development choices and we implement policies. The Covid-19 pandemic is an unfortunate reminder. Occurrences of diseases that cross over from wildlife to human populations (zoonotic diseases) are increasing and highlight how human health, animal health, and natural ecosystems are one. The current crisis shows us that we’ve lost a necessary symbiotic relation between humans and their natural environment. We, humans, are not separate from nature. We are nature.

read more
Pandemic

The Coronavirus Crisis and Waste Management in Germany

The spread of the coronavirus has had rapid and far-reaching effects on the daily life of individuals and across professions and industries. The waste management sector is no exception here. This blog will highlight some of the challenges faced by the waste management sector in Germany. Similar to other European countries, the two most prominent measures taken by Germany to halt the spread of the coronavirus are the closing of its borders and the enforcement of reduced social contact.

read more
Coronavirus

The “Wicked Problem” of the Covid-19 Pandemic

The current outbreak of the new coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) will affect virtually every person on Earth, either directly or indirectly. Many people will die of the infectious disease caused by this coronavirus (Covid-19), and others will lose people close to them. Many more will suffer other extreme hardships – psychological, social and financial – due to the extensive physical distancing measures that are reducing the spread of the virus. While there may be some perceived “silver linings”, such as temporarily reduced air pollution and CO2 emissions, and for some an opportunity to slow down and contemplate their ways of living, in the balance the effects are already tremendously challenging for the world, and are likely to get much worse before the pandemic is over.

read more
Coronavirus

What the pandemic says about how we deal with systemic risks

The coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 has fundamentally changed our lives within a short period. The world is in a state of emergency and there is no end in sight. The pandemic triggered by the coronavirus is a dynamic event shaped by many different factors, in particular human behaviour (e.g. hygiene behaviour and social interactions), making it highly variable. In many countries, the number of infections is rising exponentially. In the absence of effective therapeutic drugs or a vaccine, the number of infections can only be reduced by adopting far-reaching measures to restrict direct social contact ("physical distancing").

read more
Coronavirus

Climate Action from the Comfort of Your Own Home Office?

Just two weeks ago, the suggestion that many people would soon be working exclusively from home would have been met with disbelief. Home office? Out of the question! Yet in the short time since then curfews have been imposed in some German states and teleworking has become the new normal – at least for jobs that depend largely on a computer and Internet access.

read more
Video blog

How will the Corona Crisis affect energy policy?

The Europe-wide shutdown is reducing both energy consumption and carbon dioxide emissions. At first glance, this might seem like good news. But it has also caused CO2 certificates traded under the European Union Emissions Trading System to lose a third of their value since March. Economic activity is expected to be significantly depressed over the coming weeks and months and production capacities underused.

read more
Coronavirus

“It’s about being soft. It’s about being connected. It’s about surrendering to nature as it is.”

Affiliate IASS scholar Man Fang has been working online from Germany since late January as a volunteer coordinator to support her hometown of Wuhan, organizing donations and helping to transport medical resources from around the world to the local hospitals. Here on the IASS-Blog she answers a few questions how differently the pandemic is dealt with in Germany and China and expresses her thoughts and feelings about it.

read more
Coronavirus

How to rebuild back better: Planetary health as a compass for shaping the future international global order

Worldwide over one billion people are on coronavirus lockdown. Overnight, the frantic economies of the twenty-first century ground to a halt. All of the sudden, an invisible organism became our number one enemy, demonstrating the fragility of an über-connected planet. The coronavirus pandemic is an unprecedented event and will leave a much changed world in its wake. The question of global cooperation looms large in thinking about the post-pandemic world. Are we entering a world that is less free and open? A world of more authoritarian states? Or is this pandemic an opportunity to “unlearn” mistakes and build our societies based on trust, knowledge and cooperation?

read more
Open letter

Covid-19 pandemic: Researchers and scientists call on government to enable safe walking and cycling

Scientists from the fields of mobility research, psychology and health sciences call for the provision of a mobility infrastructure in the face of the corona pandemic that enables the required spacing and promotes people's health. As society is faced with the COVID-19 pandemic, limiting contact between potentially infected and uninfected people is a primary public health concern. This necessitates urgent changes to public spaces to enable safe mobility and physical activity.

read more

Research Groups

Alle Anzeigen

Headline: Covid-19

COBENEFITS-Factsheet

Covid-19-Krise: Erneuerbare können Gesundheitssystem und Wirtschaft entlasten

Die Covid-19-Pandemie beeinflusst die Weltwirtschaft. Politische Anstrengungen werden nötig sein, um die Arbeitsmärkte zu stabilisieren und Gesundheitssysteme zu entlasten. Um diese Ziele zu erreichen, können erneuerbare Energien wesentliche Impulse setzen. Ein Team des COBENEFITS-Projektes am IASS hat analysiert, welche Chancen die Dekarbonisierung des Energiesektors weltweit bietet.

Mehr erfahren
Weltwirtschaftsordnung

Szenarien für das globale Währungssystem der Zukunft

Lieferketten kollabieren, Firmen schließen, Massenarbeitslosigkeit. Covid-19 hat eine globale Finanzkrise ausgelöst und zwingt Staaten zu nie dagewesenen Rettungsaktionen. Damit nicht genug. Die Krise stellt die Hegemonie des US-Dollars in Frage und könnte das globale Währungssystem neu definieren. Ein Team des Instituts für transformative Nachhaltigkeitsforschung (IASS) hat vier Zukunftsszenarien entwickelt, die zeigen, wie sich die politischen Entscheidungen auf die Welt nach Corona auswirken.

Mehr erfahren
Corona-Pandemie

IASS Discussion Paper: Regeln der Realität neu denken

Das Coronavirus muss viele Konsequenzen haben: Kurzfristig müssen wir die Kurve abflachen, damit unser Gesundheitssystem nicht überlastet wird. Wir müssen uns um die Kranken kümmern und verhindern, dass sich Angehörige von Risikogruppen infizieren. Längerfristig aber müssen wir die unsere Realität einer eingehenden Prüfung unterziehen. Klaus Töpfer Sustainability Fellow Nicole de Paula beschreibt in einem neuen IASS Discussion Paper, wie die Pandemie trotz aller Traurigkeit, Angst, Verzweiflung und Frustration, die sie hervorruft, paradoxerweise die planetare Gesundheit fördern könnte.

Mehr erfahren
Sammelband

Bedingungsloses Grundeinkommen für eine nachhaltige Gesellschaft

Könnte ein bedingungsloses Grundeinkommen Freiheit und Chancengleichheit fördern, die wettbewerbsgetriebene Beschleunigung unserer Zeit eindämmen und somit dazu beitragen, unsere Umwelt zu schonen? Adrienne Goehler, freie Kuratorin und Autorin, Theoretikerin und Aktivistin, ist dieser Frage als IASS Fellow nachgegangen. In ihrem Buch „Nachhaltigkeit braucht Entschleunigung braucht Grundein/auskommen“ kommen Menschen aus unterschiedlichsten gesellschaftlichen Winkeln zu Wort.

Mehr erfahren

Blog Posts

Internationaler Tag der biologischen Vielfalt: Unsere Lösungen liegen in der Natur

Was ist biologische Vielfalt? Oft verstanden als die Gesamtheit von Pflanzen, Tieren und Mikroorganismen auf der Erde, ist Biodiversität vor allem ein reiches Beispiel für die genetischen Unterschiede zwischen den Arten und die Vielfalt der Ökosysteme. Tatsächlich gilt: Je reicher die Vielfalt des Lebens ist, desto größer sind die Chancen für medizinische Entdeckungen, wirtschaftliche Entwicklung und anpassungsfähige Lösungen für komplexe Herausforderungen wie den Klimawandel.

Mehr erfahren
Coronavirus

Neue Formen der Kooperation von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft

Eine Krise schafft Raum und Zeit, um alte Überzeugungen zu hinterfragen und neue Möglichkeitsräume zu diskutieren. Die aktuelle Situation zeigt mehr denn je: Der gesellschaftliche Transformationsprozess in Richtung Nachhaltigkeit braucht neue, bisher nicht gedachte, vielleicht nicht für möglich gehaltene Lösungsansätze. Und er braucht Menschen, die das Umsetzen dieses Neugedachten möglich machen.

Mehr erfahren
Coronavirus

Von der goldenen Gans und dem hässlichen Entlein: Auswirkungen der Pandemie auf den argentinischen Energiesektor

Argentinien gehört zu den Ländern, die von den sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Folgen der derzeitigen Pandemie am stärksten betroffen sind. Die Wirtschaftskommission für Lateinamerika und die Karibik (ECLAC) prognostiziert die schlimmste Wirtschaftskrise in der Geschichte Lateinamerikas, mit einem Rückgang des BIP um über 5 % und Millionen weiterer Menschen, die in die Armut gedrängt werden. Argentinien, das derzeit seine massive Auslandsverschuldung neu verhandelt, könnte einen Rückgang des BIP um 6,5 % oder mehr erleiden. Um die Auswirkungen der Krise abzumildern, reagiert die Regierung mit einigen Sofortmaßnahmen - Steueraufschub, Subventionen für einkommensschwache Familien und spezielle finanzielle Maßnahmen für verschiedene Sektoren einschließlich des Energiesektors. Zudem plant sie ein ehrgeiziges Wiederaufbauprogramm. Die Entscheidungen, die heute getroffen werden, werden auf den Energiesektor wahrscheinlich noch jahrzehntelang tiefgreifende Auswirkungen haben. Sie sind beeinflusst von Visionen und Erzählungen über die verschiedenen Sektoren, wobei Öl und Gas die „goldene Gans“ und erneuerbare Energien das „hässliche Entlein“ sind.

Mehr erfahren
Pandemie

Mangel an sauberen Kochherden verschlimmert Corona-Folgen in Afrika

Auf der ganzen Welt hat die Coronavirus-Pandemie das gewohnte Leben unterbrochen. Bei aller Sorge um das Virus sollten wir aber nicht die vielen grundlegenden gesundheitlichen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Ungleichheiten und Schwachstellen vergessen, die weiterhin existieren. Zwar sind die Infektionszahlen in den meisten Ländern Afrikas nach wie vor niedrig, doch ist die tatsächliche Situation nicht bekannt, vor allem aufgrund fehlender Testmöglichkeiten und begrenzter Daten. Die größte Hoffnung für die afrikanischen Länder besteht darin, vom Coronavirus verschont zu bleiben, aber tatsächlich leiden die Menschen bereits unter den Belastungen des Shutdowns, der zur Eindämmung des Virus angeordnet wurde.

Mehr erfahren
Coronavirus

Die Maske in der Coronakrise: ein Symbol von Risiko-Wahrnehmung, Höflichkeit und Gemeinschaftssinn

Neben der Zahl der Coronavirus-Infizierten hat sich in Deutschland in den letzten Wochen vielleicht nichts so gravierend verändert wie die Risiko-Wahrnehmung. Ein gutes Symbol dafür ist die Maske. Die Einschätzung ihres Nutzens hat sich sehr dynamisch entwickelt, nicht nur im Medizinbereich, sondern auch bei den Politikern und Bürgern. Ein kleines Stück Stoff repräsentiert daher etwas Größeres, was für die künftige Forschung in verschiedenen Fachbereichen, z.B. Medizin, Jura und Sozialwissenschaften, interessante Fragen aufwerfen wird.

Mehr erfahren
Coronavirus

Neustart nach Corona-Shutdown: Warum die deutsche Strategie Frauen benachteiligt

Am 15. April kündigte die Bundesregierung Pläne für einen schrittweisen Wiedereinstieg in das wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Leben nach dem fünfwöchigen Corona-Shutdown an. In einem ersten Schritt wurden Geschäfte mit einer Verkaufsfläche von weniger als 800 Quadratmetern sowie Auto- und Fahrradläden unter strengen Hygiene- und Abstandsregelungen wiedereröffnet. Anfang Mai kehrten die Abschlussklassen in die Schule zurück.

Mehr erfahren
Coronavirus

Vertieft die Pandemie die globale digitale Kluft?

Arbeit findet im Homeoffice statt, Freundschaften werden virtuell in Video-Chats gepflegt, der Onlinehandel boomt und Tracing-Apps sollen Infektionsketten nachverfolgen: Viele Länder erleben im Zuge der Corona-Pandemie einen Digitalisierungsschub. Gerade Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländer könnten jedoch in ihren Bemühungen für die Digitalisierung von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft zurückgeworfen werden. Umso mehr sollten nun die Versäumnisse bei der Gestaltung einer global gerechten Digitalisierung nachgeholt werden.

Mehr erfahren
Coronavirus

Krisen als Klimakatalysatoren

Durch die Corona-Pandemie sind die CO2-Emissionen stark gesunken. Solche kurzfristigen Effekte sind schön, bedeuten aber wenig für den Klimaschutz. Aus vergangenen Krisen wissen wir, dass sie Transformationsprozesse beschleunigen können. Mit den richtigen politischen Antworten kann die Krise ein Wendepunkt zur Klimaneutralität sein.

Mehr erfahren
Coronavirus

Lehren aus der Corona-Krise für eine nachhaltige Krisenbewältigung

Die deutsche Gesellschaft hat in der Zeit vom Zweiten Weltkrieg bis heute keine so schwerwiegende gesamtgesellschaftliche Herausforderung wie diese weltweit grassierende Pandemie erlebt. Zwar sind die gesundheitlichen Implikationen und erst recht nicht die wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Konsequenzen zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt vollständig zu überschauen, aber die bisher schon durchgeführten Maßnahmen und Vorschriften sind in ihrer Strenge und ihren Auswirkungen auf das Leben aller Bürgerinnen und Bürger einzigartig in der deutschen Nachkriegsgeschichte.

Mehr erfahren
Coronavirus

Investitionen in die Zukunft: Wie ein „grüner Covid-19-Stimulus“ die Energiewende stärken kann

Die Coronakrise bedroht nicht nur unsere Gesundheit, sie hat auch starke Auswirkungen auf die Wirtschaftssysteme: Weltweit sind im ersten Quartal des Jahres Börsenkurse um bis zu 35 Prozent eingebrochen , es droht eine Rezession. Betroffen davon ist auch der Energiesektor . Neben Einbrüchen der Ölpreise sind auch erneuerbare Energieträger betroffen. Krankheitsfälle, anhaltende Ausgangsbeschränkungen, Kurzarbeit und Grenzschließungen beeinflussen die Lieferketten der Wind- und Solarenergietechnologien; Investitionen stagnieren. In dieser Situation können wir aus dem Umgang mit früheren Wirtschaftskrisen lernen und sollten auf einen „grünen Stimulus“ entlang des Dreischritts Relief, Recovery und Reform setzen. Alle Maßnahmen entlang dieser drei Schritte sollten auf ihre Zukunftsfähigkeit geprüft werden. Das kann die Energiewende schneller und resilienter zu machen.

Mehr erfahren
Coronavirus

Sicherheit über alles? Grundwerte im Nachhaltigkeitsdiskurs

In ihrer „MaddAdam“-Trilogie, die in einer unbestimmten, jedoch nicht allzu weit entfernten Zukunft spielt, lässt Margaret Atwood die Menschheit an einem künstlich designten Virus beinahe gänzlich aussterben. Die Pandemie, kurz und verheerend, ist der Angelpunkt des Romanplots, den Atwood über weite Strecken als Rückblenden der wenigen Überlebenden erzählt. Doch ist nicht die Pandemie es, die, inmitten der Coronakrise, an die Lektüre zurückdenken lässt, sondern vielmehr der soziale Zustand, auf den sie trifft: Um die Produktionszentren der Hochtechnologie herum sind in Atwoods Dystopie Gated Communities gelagert, in denen die Wirtschafts- und Technologieeliten abgeschirmt und in Luxus leben. Außerhalb dieser Communities, in den sogenannten „Pleeblands“, sind die meisten Menschen nicht nur der Kriminalität und der Willkür privatisierter Sicherheitsservices ausgeliefert, sondern auch erhöhter Sterblichkeit durch sporadisch und lokal auftretende Epidemien. Als das ultimative Virus zuschlägt, sind weder Solidarität noch Staatswesen in der Lage, sich ihm entgegenzustellen.

Mehr erfahren
Pandemie

Lehren des Coronavirus: Neue Strategie für Erneuerbaren-Ausbau gefragt

Die internationale Gesundheitskrise hat ein gravierendes Problem für die Energiesysteme offenbart: Wir schätzen den Wert von Technologien für erneuerbare Energien nicht hoch genug ein. Die meisten Solarpaneele werden heute in China hergestellt, und ein Mangel an wichtigen Komponenten bedeutet, dass Europa jetzt mit großen Verzögerungen bei Neuinstallationen konfrontiert ist. Die Windkraft steht vor einem doppelten Problem: Die Produktion ist lahmgelegt, und die Länder verfügen möglicherweise nicht über das nötige Personal und Material, um die Systeme am Laufen zu halten. Sie sollten jetzt am Aufbau einer nationalen Infrastruktur für saubere Technologien arbeiten, so wie sie auch strategische Reserven an fossilen Brennstoffen bereithalten.

Mehr erfahren
Coronavirus

Das "Wicked Problem" der Covid-19-Pandemie

Der Ausbruch des neuen Coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) wird praktisch jeden Menschen auf der Erde direkt oder indirekt betreffen. Viele werden an der durch den Coronavirus verursachten Infektionskrankheit Covid-19 sterben, andere werden Menschen verlieren, die ihnen nahe stehen. Aufgrund der umfangreichen physischen Distanzierungsmaßnahmen werden viele weitere Menschen andere Schwierigkeiten erleben – psychologische, soziale und finanzielle. Zwar mag es einige vermeintliche "positive Nebenwirkungen" geben, wie etwa eine vorübergehende Verringerung der Luftverschmutzung und des CO2-Ausstoßes oder die Chance für einige, ihr Leben zu entschleunigen und ihre Lebensweise zu überdenken. Aber in der Bilanz sind die Auswirkungen bereits jetzt eine enorme Herausforderung für die ganze Welt und sie werden sich voraussichtlich noch deutlich vergrößern, bevor die Pandemie vorbei ist.

Mehr erfahren
Pandemie

Was uns das Coronavirus über den Umgang mit systemischen Risiken zeigt

Das Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 hat unser Leben in kurzer Zeit grundlegend verändert. Die Welt befindet sich in einem Ausnahmezustand, für den noch kein Ende absehbar ist. Die durch das Coronavirus ausgelöste Pandemie ist ein dynamisches Geschehen, das von vielen Faktoren, gerade auch durch menschliches Verhalten (z. B. Hygiene-Verhalten und soziale Kontakte), bestimmt wird und dadurch sehr variabel ist. Die Fallzahlen der Infektionen entwickeln sich zudem in vielen Ländern exponentiell. Da bislang weder Medikamente noch eine Impfung zur Verfügung stehen, kann die Zahl der Ansteckungen nur durch weitreichende Maßnahmen zur Einschränkung der unmittelbaren sozialen Kontakte („physical distancing“) reduziert werden.

Mehr erfahren
Coronavirus

Klimaschutz im Homeoffice?

Hätte man noch vor zwei Wochen Arbeitnehmer*innen gefragt, ob sie in Kürze von zu Hause aus arbeiten, hätten viele vermutlich abgewinkt. Homeoffice? Nicht bei uns! Kurze Zeit später gibt es aufgrund der Pandemie mit dem neuartigen Coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) eine Ausgangssperre in einigen deutschen Bundesländern und die häusliche Arbeits-Quarantäne ist zum neuen Status quo geworden - zumindest für jene Berufe, deren Ausübung hauptsächlich eines Computers mit Internetzugang bedarf.

Mehr erfahren
Videoblog

Welche Folgen hat die Coronakrise für die Energiepolitik?

Durch den europaweiten Shutdown sinkt der Energieverbrauch und dementsprechend der CO2-Ausstoß. Auf den ersten Blick eine gute Nachricht. Aber in der Folge sinkt der Preis für die CO2-Zertifikate, seit März bereits um mehr als Drittel. Die wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten werden aller Voraussicht nach in den kommenden Wochen und Monaten geringer ausfallen, die Kapazitäten werden nicht ausgelastet sein.

Mehr erfahren
Pandemie

"Es geht darum, sanft und verbunden zu sein. Es geht darum, sich der Natur so wie sie ist hinzugeben"

Seit Ende Januar hat IASS Scholar Man Fang von Deutschland aus online als ehrenamtliche Koordinatorin für ihre Heimatstadt Wuhan Spenden organisiert und dabei geholfen, medizinische Hilfsmittel aus der ganzen Welt zu Krankenhäusern vor Ort zu transportieren. Im IASS-Blog beantwortet sie Fragen, wie unterschiedlich in Deutschland und China mit der Pandemie umgegangen wird und äußert ihre Gedanken darüber.

Mehr erfahren
Coronavirus

How to rebuild back better: Planetary health as a compass for shaping the future international global order

Worldwide over one billion people are on coronavirus lockdown. Overnight, the frantic economies of the twenty-first century ground to a halt. All of the sudden, an invisible organism became our number one enemy, demonstrating the fragility of an über-connected planet. The coronavirus pandemic is an unprecedented event and will leave a much changed world in its wake. The question of global cooperation looms large in thinking about the post-pandemic world. Are we entering a world that is less free and open? A world of more authoritarian states? Or is this pandemic an opportunity to “unlearn” mistakes and build our societies based on trust, knowledge and cooperation?

Mehr erfahren

Forschungsgruppen

Alle Anzeigen