Potsdam Summer School

Date: 
Mon, 09/04/2017 to Wed, 09/13/2017

Potsdam Summer School brings together talented early career researchers and professionals from science and the public and private sectors from around the world, and offers a forum for the discussion of frontier research questions in the field of sustainable development while also fostering international cooperation and providing opportunities for participants to grow their networks.

Interactive and transdisciplinary

The 2017 edition of the Potsdam Summer School will continue this successful series of transdisciplinary and interactive events in Brandenburg’s capital city. The research questions addressed at this landmark event reflect the changing thematic focus of each iteration. Last year, Potsdam Summer School explored the challenge of dealing with climate change impacts. The summer school programme includes keynote lectures, discussions in a number of formats, workshops, and excursions. The output from these discussions will be presented online at www.potsdam-summer-school.org and across relevant social media channels. Many participants go on to collaborate on scientific papers or hold video conferences to discuss their ongoing work long after the conclusion of the Summer School, which plays an important role in fostering the growth of new networks among early career researchers.

A landmark event in the German research landscape

Potsdam Summer School has been held annually since 2014 and is a joint initiative of the IASS, the Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research (AWI), the German Research Centre for Geosciences (GFZ), Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, the University of Potsdam, and the City of Potsdam. Its unique interdisciplinary approach makes Potsdam Summer School a landmark event in the German research landscape.

Contact:

Angela Borowski

+49 (0)331 288 22 361

angela.borowski@iass-potsdam.de

Duration:

11/2016 to 12/2017

Project partners:

Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, University of Potsdam, Landeshauptstadt Potsdam

Topics:

Sustainable development, governance, political decision-making, participation, relationships between actors, geoscience, transdisciplinarity, interdisciplinarity, networks, early career scientists

Team:

Senior Research Associate: Angela Borowski

Supervising Directors: Prof. Mark Lawrence, Prof. Patrizia Nanz, Prof. Ortwin Renn

More information:

Potsdam Summer School

Date: 
Mo, 09/04/2017 bis Mi, 09/13/2017

Die Potsdam Summer School bringt herausragende Nachwuchswissenschaftler und Experten aus der Industrie, dem öffentlichen Sektor und Nichtregierungsorganisationen aus allen Teilen der Welt zusammen. Ziel der Veranstaltung ist es, aktuelle und innovative Forschungsfragen rund um nachhaltige Entwicklung zu diskutieren, den internationalen Austausch anzuregen und den Aufbau von Netzwerken zu fördern.

Interaktiv und transdisziplinär

Mit der Potsdam Summer School 2017 wird die transdisziplinäre und interaktive Veranstaltungsreihe in der brandenburgischen Landeshauptstadt fortgesetzt. Die Forschungsfragen, die dabei diskutiert werden, orientieren sich am jeweiligen Schwerpunktthema, das jährlich wechselt. Im vergangenen Jahr stand der Umgang mit den Auswirkungen des Klimawandels im Mittelpunkt. Im Rahmen des Projekts gibt es Keynote Lectures, Diskussionsformate, Workshops und Exkursionen. Die Diskussionsergebnisse werden auf der Website www.potsdam-summer-school.org und via Social Media verbreitet. Auch über die Veranstaltung hinaus bleiben die Teilnehmer durch die gemeinsame Arbeit an wissenschaftlichen Beiträgen, Skype-Konferenzen und die Kontaktpflege auf wissenschaftlichen Veranstaltungen in regem Austausch. Damit wirkt die Summer School zugleich als ein wichtiger Initiator für neue Netzwerke unter jungen Wissenschaftlern.

Einzigartig in der Potsdamer Forschungslandschaft

Die Potsdamer Summer School findet seit 2014 jährlich statt und ist eine Initiative des IASS, des Alfred-Wegener-Instituts für Polar- und Meeresforschung, des GeoForschungsZentrums Potsdam, des Potsdam-Instituts für Klimafolgenforschung, der Universität Potsdam und der Landeshauptstadt Potsdam. Mit ihrem umfassenden interdisziplinären Ansatz ist sie einzigartig in der Potsdamer Forschungslandschaft.

Laufzeit:

11/2016 bis 12/2017

Projektpartner:

AWI, GFZ, PIK, Universität Potsdam, Landeshauptstadt Potsdam

Themen:

Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Governance, politische Entscheidungsfindung, Partizipation, Beziehungen zwischen den Akteuren, Erdwissenschaften, Transdisziplinarität, Interdisziplinarität, Netzwerke, Nachwuchswissenschaftler,

Team:

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin: Angela Borowski

Verantwortliche Direktoren: Prof. Dr. Mark Lawrence, Prof. Dr. Patrizia Nanz, Prof. Dr. Ortwin Renn