Climate Engineering

Targeted interventions in the climate system are the subject of intense debate

While there is still hope that risks from climate change can be limited by cutting greenhouse gas emissions, there is also a perception that ‘time is running out’. This perception of a looming watershed has given rise to calls for research on intentional, large-scale interventions into the climate system, referred to as either ‘climate engineering’ or ‘geoengineering’. Both terms describe a diverse and largely hypothetical array of methods for manipulating the global climate in order to moderate or forestall some of the numerous impacts of climate change.

So far, the success of efforts to reduce the emission of greenhouse gases has been limited. Moreover, international climate negotiations and the transformation of energy infrastructures towards sustainability remain slow-paced. Should current emission patterns continue, this will likely lead to substantial global warming, sea level rise, ocean acidification, and changes in the frequency, intensity and locations of weather extremes. Many societies will struggle to adapt to these changes. Targeted interventions in the climate system have the potential to allow a degree of control over global average temperatures.

Promises and risks of climate engineering

There are various approaches to intentionally intervening into the climate. These are commonly grouped according to whether they attempt to actively remove carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases from the atmosphere or whether they attempt to reflect incoming sunlight away from Earth and back into space. Options for removing greenhouse gases from the atmosphere include large-scale afforestation, the enhancement of weathering processes, or the direct capture of greenhouse gases from ambient air for subsequent storage. Options for reflecting sunlight back into space include the injection of reflective aerosol particles into the stratosphere or the brightening of marine clouds through the injection of cloud condensation nuclei, such as sea salt.

However, current knowledge suggests that any potential benefits of such interventions would be accompanied by significant risks and uncertainties. Climate engineering techniques are therefore the subject of intense debate and controversy within academia and society at large, which goes beyond the limited consideration of whether we are technologically capable of controlling global average temperatures. Rather, climate engineering emerges from a complex set of interactions between societal and technological developments that needs to be taken into account. These interactions shape the emergence of climate engineering approaches onto political agendas. Understanding this reflexive relationship is crucial to producing comprehensive, relevant knowledge to support decision-making about climate engineering.

IASS research on climate engineering

Our interdisciplinary team brings together physicists and chemists, international lawyers, political scientists as well as representatives from the fields of geography, philosophy and psychology.

We are especially interested in the governance of climate engineering techniques, including field experimentation on such techniques. We also work on the use of computer models to understand the impacts of sunlight-reflection techniques, and on the societal perception and deeper ethical implications of the full range of climate engineering techniques. A key aspect of our work is the transdisciplinary interaction with stakeholders from civil society and the policy-making community, to improve the accuracy, relevance and impact of our work. 

Photo front page: (c) istock

Team

Prof. Dr. Ilan Chabay

Function: 

Senior Fellow

Prof. Dr. Mark G. Lawrence

Function: 

Managing Scientific Director

Dr. Thomas Bruhn

Function: 

Project Scientist

Sean Low

Function: 

Research Fellow

Dr Stefan Schäfer

Function: 

Program Leader

Katharina Beyerl

Function: 

Project Scientist

IASS Fact Sheet 1/2013: Climate Engineering

With greenhouse gas emissions continuing to escalate, recent years have seen
a growing discussion on climate engineering (CE) – an array of proposed methods
for manipulating the global climate in order to moderate or forestall the effects
of climate change. Research has expanded rapidly and while it has become clear
that CE cannot serve as a direct substitute for emission reductions, the role of
specific CE methods as responses to climate change within a portfolio of measures
is being debated. 
 
concise overview by Sean Low, Stefan Schäfer and Achim Maas 

CEC14

Conference film

From 18 to 21 August, more than 350 participants from 40 countries gathered in Berlin for the Climate Engineering Conference 2014. They discussed a multitude of questions associated with technical interventions in the climate system.

Argument Browser

Interactive graphic

The argument browser enables you to explore complex debates by selecting arguments and discovering their direct and indirect attack and support relations with other arguments and theses.

 

Field Tests of Solar Climate Engineering

Publication

Letter in the journal "Nature Climate Change" by IASS scientists Stefan Schäfer, Peter J. Irvine, Anna-Maria Hubert, David Reichwein, Sean Low, Harald Stelzer, Achim Maas and Mark G. Lawrence

Geoengineering our Climate?

Publication

A Working Paper Series on the Ethics, Politics and Governance of Climate Engineering

More

"Rethinking Climate Engineering Categorization"

Publication

Article in the journal "WIREs Climate Change" by IASS scientists Mark G. Lawrence, Achim Maas et al.

Earth's Future in the Anthropocene

Publication

Article in the journal "Earth's Future" about Climate Engineering in the context of the wider setting of societal development in the Anthropocene by Stefan Schäfer, Harald Stelzer, Achim Maas and Mark G. Lawrence

Climate Engineering

Gezielte Eingriffe ins Klima bringen zahlreiche Risiken mit sich

Zwar gibt es noch Hoffnung, dass die Risiken des Klimawandels durch eine Reduktion des Treibhausgasausstoßes begrenzt werden können, doch die Zeit wird knapp. Das Bewusstsein, dass heute die Weichen für die künftige Entwicklung des Klimas gestellt werden, hat Forderungen nach der Erforschung von direkten Eingriffen ins Klimasystem laut werden lassen. Diese werden als „Climate Engineering“ oder „Geoengineering“ bezeichnet. Beide Begriffe beschreiben ein breites und großenteils hypothetisches Spektrum von Ansätzen, das Klima zu manipulieren. Ziel des Climate Engineering ist es, einige der Auswirkungen des Klimawandels abzuschwächen oder zu verhindern – vor allem die globale Erwärmung und die damit verbundenen Folgen.

Die Bestrebungen, den Ausstoß von Treibhausgasen zu senken, sind bislang nur mäßig erfolgreich. Auch die internationalen Klima-Verhandlungen und die Realisierung einer nachhaltigeren Energieversorgung schreiten nur langsam voran. Wenn sich die derzeitigen Emissionsmuster fortsetzen, wird dies wahrscheinlich zu einer erheblichen Erderwärmung, einem Anstieg des Meeresspiegels, einer Versauerung der Ozeane sowie Veränderungen in der Häufigkeit, Intensität und Lokalisierung von Extremwetter-Phänomenen führen. Viele Gesellschaften werden durch notwendige Anpassungsmaßnahmen vor große Herausforderungen gestellt. Daher werden gezielte Eingriffe in das Klimasystem diskutiert, um globale Durchschnittstemperaturen auf ein gewisses Maß zu begrenzen.

Chancen und Risiken von Climate Engineering

Es gibt verschiedene Climate-Engineering-Ansätze. Diese werden gewöhnlich in zwei Kategorien zusammengefasst. Die eine Kategorie von Maßnahmen zielt darauf ab, der Atmosphäre Kohlendioxid und andere Treibhausgase zu entziehen. In der zweiten Kategorie werden Ansätze zusammengefasst, welche Sonnenlicht weg von der Erde zu reflektieren. Zu den diskutierten Möglichkeiten, Treibhausgase aus der Atmosphäre zu entfernen, gehören großflächige Aufforstungen, die Beschleunigung von Verwitterungsprozessen sowie die direkte Abscheidung von Treibhausgasen aus der Luft. Zu den Möglichkeiten, Sonnenlicht zu reflektieren, gehören das Einbringen reflektierender Aerosole in die Stratosphäre und die Aufhellung von Wolken über dem Meer durch Eintrag von Kondensationskeimen wie Meersalz.

Der derzeitige Forschungsstand legt jedoch nahe, dass derartige Eingriffe neben möglichen positiven Auswirkungen auch erhebliche Risiken und Unsicherheiten mit sich bringen. Climate-Engineering-Ansätze sind daher das Thema intensiver Debatten und Kontroversen sowohl innerhalb wie auch außerhalb der Wissenschaft. Dabei können sich Überlegungen nicht auf die Frage beschränken, ob wir technisch in der Lage sind, die weltweiten Durchschnittstemperaturen zu kontrollieren. Vielmehr ist Climate Engineering das Ergebnis eines komplexen Zusammenwirkens von gesellschaftlichen und technischen Entwicklungen. Dieses Zusammenwirken beeinflusst die Rolle von Climate-Engineering-Ansätzen auf der politischen Tagesordnung. Das Verständnis dieser Zusammenhänge ist notwendig, um umfassendes und relevantes Wissen für Entscheidungsprozesse mit Blick auf Climate Engineering zu entwickeln.

Forschung zu Climate Engineering am IASS

In unserem interdisziplinären Team arbeiten Physiker und Chemiker, Völkerrechtler, Politikwissenschaftler, Geographen, Philosophen und Psychologen zusammen.

Wir interessieren uns besonders für Governance-Fragen von-Climate Engineering-Ansätzen, einschließlich der möglichen Regulierung von Forschung und insbesondere Feldversuchen. Wir nutzen Computer-Modelle, um die Auswirkungen von Climate Engineering zu verstehen, unser Schwerpunkt liegt auf Maßnahmen zur Reflexion von Sonnenlicht. Weitere Schwerpunkte sind die gesellschaftliche Wahrnehmung von Climate Engineering sowie die weitreichenden politischen und ethischen Fragestellungen, die mit der ganzen Bandbreite der diskutierten Techniken verknüpft sind. Ein zentraler Aspekt unserer Arbeit ist die transdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit mit zivilgesellschaftlichen und politischen Akteuren, um die Relevanz unserer Arbeit sicherzustellen.

Foto Startseite: (c) istock

Team

Prof. Dr. Mark G. Lawrence

Funktion: 

Geschäftsführender wiss. Direktor

Dr. Thomas Bruhn

Funktion: 

Projektwissenschaftler

Sean Low

Funktion: 

Research Fellow

Dr. Stefan Schäfer

Funktion: 

Programmleiter

Katharina Beyerl

Funktion: 

Projekt-Wissenschaftlerin

Matthias Honegger

Funktion: 

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Gabriel Dorthe

Funktion: 

Research Fellow

IASS Fact Sheet 1/2013: Climate Engineering

With greenhouse gas emissions continuing to escalate, recent years have seen
a growing discussion on climate engineering (CE) – an array of proposed methods
for manipulating the global climate in order to moderate or forestall the effects
of climate change. Research has expanded rapidly and while it has become clear
that CE cannot serve as a direct substitute for emission reductions, the role of
specific CE methods as responses to climate change within a portfolio of measures
is being debated. 
 
concise overview by Sean Low, Stefan Schäfer and Achim Maas 

CEC14

Konferenzfilm

 

Vom 18. bis 21. August trafen sich mehr als 350 Teilnehmer aus 40 Ländern bei der Climate Engineering Conference 2014 in Berlin. Sie diskutierten über eine Vielzahl von Fragen, die mit technischen Eingriffen ins Klima zusammenhängen.

 

Debattenbrowser

Interaktive Grafik

Pro & Contra Climate Engineering: Mit unserer interaktiven Argumentkarte können Sie sich mit dem Thema auseinandersetzen.

 

Über die Manipulation des Klimas

Radiobeitrag

 

Während sich einige Forscher noch darüber streiten, ob es den Klimawandel wirklich gibt, tüfteln andere schon an Methoden, die Folgen der globalen Erwärmung technisch gewitzt von der Erde abzuhalten, denn die Hoffnung in die internationalen Bemühungen zur Reduktion von Treibhausgasen scheint gering. 
radioeins-Interview mit Achim Maas

Field Tests of Solar Climate Engineering

Publikation

Brief in der Zeitschrift "Nature Climate Change" von den IASS-Forschern Stefan Schäfer, Peter J. Irvine, Anna-Maria Hubert, David Reichwein, Sean Low, Harald Stelzer, Achim Maas und Mark G. Lawrence

Geoengineering our Climate?

Publikation

A Working Paper Series on the Ethics, Politics and Governance of Climate Engineering

More

"Rethinking Climate Engineering Categorization"

Publikation

Artikel in der Zeitschrift "WIREs Climate Change" von den IASS-Forschern Mark G. Lawrence, Achim Maas u.a.

Earth's future in the Anthropocene

Publikation

Beitrag über Climate Engineering im Kontext gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen im Anthropozän in der Zeitschrift "Earth's Future" von Stefan Schäfer, Harald Stelzer, Achim Maas und Mark G. Lawrence