The Directors

Professor Dr Mark Lawrence has been a Scientific Director at the IASS since October 2011 and was originally responsible for the SIWA (Sustainable Interactions with the Atmosphere) Cluster. He has been the Managing Scientific Director since October 2015. 

Function: Managing Scientific Director
Phone: +49 331-28822-350

Prof. Dr Ortwin Renn joined the IASS as Scientific Director in February 2016.

Prof. Dr Patrizia Nanz joined the IASS as Scientific Director in April 2016.

Function: Scientific Director
Phone: +49 331 28822-467

Jakob Meyer joined the IASS as Administrative Director in October 2017.

Function: Administrative Director
Phone: +49 331 28822-329


Until his retirement in September 2015, Professor Dr Klaus Töpfer was the Founding and Executive Director of the IASS. At the same time he headed the GCS (Global Contract for Sustainability) Cluster.

Function: Executive Director (until 30.09.2015); Honorary Senior Fellow

Professor Dr Carlo Rubbia was a Scientific Director of the IASS from June 2010 to May 2015 with responsibility for the E³ (Earth, Energy and Environment) Cluster.

Function: Scientific Director; Honorary Senior Fellow