Overline: Conference
Headline: The IASS at the Madrid Climate Change Conference

The 25th UN Climate Change Conference (COP25) is due to take place in the Spanish capital Madrid from 2 to 13 December. At this year’s COP, minds will focus on concrete steps towards implementing the Paris Climate Agreement. A whole host of experts from the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS) will be there.

Co-Creative Reflective and Dialogue Space / 02.-13.12.2019, Blue Zone, with Tom Bruhn, Carolin Fraude, Dorota Stasiak and Mark Lawrence.

Mobilizing Co-Benefits and raising NDC ambition with Just Transition perspectives: Latin America context / 03.12.2019. Side event EU Pavilion, with Mara Gomez and Héctor Rodríguez Chávez.

Inspiring Courage to Act and Adapt in a Climate Emergency / 03.12.2019, 16:45-18:15, Official UNFCCC side event, Room 1, with Mark Lawrence.

Co-Benefits Mexico launch event with BMU and SEMARNAT (Mexico) / 04.12.2019, with Mara Gomez and Héctor Rodríguez Chávez.

Strengthening climate promises: local and near –term mitigation through action on SLCPs / 04.12.2019 from 13:15-14:45, Official UNFCCC side event, Room 1, with Kathleen Mar, Charlotte Unger and Mark Lawrence.

Carbon Dioxide Removal and Net-Zero climate targets / 4.12.2019, 13:30/14:00-16:00, Nordic Pavilion, with Matthias Honegger.

Ocean-Climate Finance organized by Ocean Climate Platform / 04.12.2019 at 16:30h, EU Pavilion, with Torsten Thiele.

Urgent steps needed to restore ocean health / 05.12.2019 at 13:30h, German Pavilion, with Torsten Thiele.


Co-Benefits evening event with partners / 06.12.2019, with Mara Gomez and Héctor Rodríguez Chávez.

Ocean Climate Roadmap / 06.12.2019, with Torsten Thiele.

Co-benefits panel / 06.12.2019, Turkish Pavilion, with Héctor Rodríguez Chávez.

Blue Infrastructure Workshop / 08.12.2019, with Torsten Thiele.

Ocean Finance Panel / 09.12.2019, Luxembourg Pavilion, with Torsten Thiele.

SDG implications of carbon removal and solar radiation modification - TBD / 12.12.2019, C2G Pavilion, with Matthias Honegger.