Overline: Climate Action
Headline: Planned Commission Masks Bad Leadership

Lignite mining in Brandenburg
istock/delectus

Major societal reforms call for strong political leadership, viable ideas, and political majorities. Yet in the implementation of Germany’s Energiewende, the centrepiece of efforts to achieve its climate protection goals, alarm bells are sounding in all three areas, notes Daniela Setton.

The results of exploratory talks to form a new ‘grand coalition’ between the conservative CDU/CSU and the social democratic SPD reveal the huge challenges faced by climate protection and energy transition policies in Germany. The Discussion Paper may not be a coalition agreement – and even that might not be worth the paper it’s written on if a new grand coalition is indeed formed – but this first settlement shows the extent to which the political cards are currently stacked against climate protection. On questions of pivotal importance to Germany’s future, the leadership of both parties is muddling through and doing its level best to avoid making decisions that might put it in the political firing line. And the reasons for this cannot simply be attributed to the difficulties associated with forming a government.

Matthias Miersch, deputy chair of the SPD faction in the Bundestag, quite rightly points out that a lot has been achieved in the talks between the two sides – for example a planned Climate Protection Act, an increase in the share of renewables to 65 per cent by the end of 2030, and the establishment of a commission for “Growth, Structural Change and Employment”. However, the negotiators themselves still seem unwilling to assume political responsibility for upholding the climate goals.

Is the government shirking its responsibility?

Let’s turn first to the planned commission, something that was already foreseen by the 2050 Climate Action Plan and has now been given slightly sharper contours in the Discussion Paper. It makes for astonishing reading here: The remit of the commission is to cover practically all the main issues in relation to achieving the 2020 and 2030 climate goals – not just in the field of energy, but also in the transport and construction sectors, as Matthias Miersch explains. The results of its deliberations, including an ‘Action Programme’ with measures to close the climate protection gap, are to be compiled within a tight timeframe and submitted by the end of 2018. They are intended to serve as a basis for the Climate Protection Act due to be passed in 2019. Such an extensive mandate goes far beyond the usual remit of expert commissions and it begs the question of just how effective the planned commission can be.

Let’s remind ourselves of the unsuccessful search for a consensus by several wide-ranging ‘energy-consensus rounds’ over many years in the early 1990s under the government led by Chancellor Helmut Kohl. Back then, nuclear energy was the central issue on the agenda, and the aim was to reach broad agreement on the country’s future energy policy. In the end, Gerhard Schröder took matters into his own hands on becoming chancellor in 1998 and negotiated Germany’s nuclear phaseout with the nuclear power companies themselves. And in 2011, Angela Merkel used the Ethics Commission mainly to garner political support for a decision she had already made to overturn a planned extension of the lifetimes of the country’s remaining nuclear power stations.

A commission with a carte blanche mandate

By contrast, the current negotiators of a possible grand coalition seem keen to delegate tasks that should actually be performed by the government to a commission. In the last legislative period, it was still the job of the Federal Environment Minister to develop and coordinate a package of measures to achieve the climate goals. The decision to establish an expert commission is certainly to be welcomed as this will create a forum for structured political debate on controversial issues, where different interests can be reconciled, for example with regard to the coal phaseout. However, to have a chance of success, such a commission needs a clear mandate that it can realistically achieve in the allotted time as well as the right combination of members and an effective way of working. So it’s important to give due consideration to its design.

There’s a reason for this shunting of responsibility for climate policy onto a commission. It is rooted first and foremost in the difficulty of securing the required majorities for aspects of the energy transition that are political hot potatoes. They include sensitive distribution policy questions, where discussions have been very tentative to date. Who needs to pay more for energy? And who should pay less? Who is entitled to financial support? Who is going to lose their job? What business models are still viable? To make matters even more complicated, an increasing number of actors with diverse interests are becoming involved in the political process. So it’s really no wonder that the Discussion Paper makes no mention at all of one of the key reforms of the energy transition, namely the reorganisation of the current system of levies and fees.

The need for greater acceptance of politically sensitive topics

Be it in relation to electricity, heating, food or mobility, climate policy touches on central aspects of our daily lives. And tackling these issues is politically risky – for all parties. Although it made sense from a climate protection point of view, the Greens’ Veggie Day proposal was quickly abandoned after it met with overwhelming public opposition.

To win people over to climate protection and the energy transition, the political process must be broad and open. It should involve associations, policymakers, businesses and citizens beyond the classical energy and climate spectrum.  The federal government needs to take the population’s desire for justice seriously and be guided by that in its decision-making. The data we at the IASS gathered in the Social Sustainability Barometer for the German Energiewende 2017 prepared in the context of the dynamis partnership reveals clear discrepancies between the government’s approach and the preferences of the general population, for example with regard to the financing of the energy transition. A majority of citizens doubts the capacity of the political parties to implement the energy transition. And about one quarter of Germany’s population believes that its views on this issue are not adequately represented in political discussions.

So the next federal government – whatever its composition – would do well to define the mandate of the proposed commission more narrowly.  Otherwise there’s a risk that the commission will become a permanent fixture that is incapable of achieving the required consensus. The commission can make an important contribution to getting convincing climate protection measures off the ground, but it cannot be a substitute for a political process. Here the responsibilty lies firmly on the shoulders of democratically elected decision-makers at federal and state level. And they need to do all in their power to assume that responsibility.

This article was first published on 29 January 2018 in Tagesspiegel Background Energie & Klima.

Add new comment

This must be an external URL such as http://example.com.
CAPTCHA This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions. Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.

Overline: Klimaschutz
Headline: Kommissionitis statt Führungsstärke

Lignite mining in Brandenburg
istock/delectus

Große gesellschaftliche Reformen benötigen überzeugende politische Führung, tragfähige Konzepte und politische Mehrheiten. Doch bei der Umsetzung der deutschen Energiewende, dem Kernvorhaben zur Erreichung der Klimaschutzziele, schrillen in allen drei Bereichen die Alarmglocken, wie Daniela Setton feststellen muss.

Die Ergebnisse der Sondierungsgespräche zur Formierung einer neuen „GroKo“ zwischen CDU/CSU und SPD zeigen paradigmatisch, vor welch enormen Herausforderungen die Klimaschutz- und Energiewende-Politik in Deutschland steht. Zwar ist das Papier noch kein Koalitionsvertrag, und selbst dieser kann schnell wieder Makulatur sein, wenn die neue „GroKo“ wirklich kommt. Doch diese erste Einigung macht deutlich, wie schwierig die politische Gemengelage beim Klimaschutz zurzeit ist. Das politische Spitzenpersonal übt sich beim zentralen Zukunftsthema im Durchwursteln, Nicht-Entscheiden und dem Versuch, möglichst nicht in die politische Schusslinie zu geraten. Und das aus Gründen, die weit über die Schwierigkeiten einer Regierungsbildung hinausgehen.

Der stellvertretende Vorsitzende der SPD-Bundestagsfraktion Matthias Miersch betont zwar zurecht, in den Gesprächen zwischen SPD und Union sei einiges erreicht worden – etwa das geplante Klimaschutzgesetz, die Erhöhung des Erneuerbaren-Ausbaus auf 65 Prozent bis Ende 2030 oder die geplante Kommission "Wachstum, Strukturwandel und Beschäftigung". Dennoch scheinen die GroKo-Sondierer nicht gewillt, selbst politische Verantwortung für die Einhaltung der Klimaziele zu übernehmen.

Stiehlt sich die Regierung aus der Verantwortung?

Zunächst ein Blick auf die geplante Kommission, die schon im Klimaschutzplan 2050 als Vorhaben festgehalten wurde und im Sondierungspapier etwas konkretisiert wird. Da steht in der Tat Erstaunliches: Die Kommission soll fast alle zentralen Gestaltungsfragen zur Erreichung der Klimaziele 2020 und 2030 auf ihrer Agenda haben, und zwar nicht nur im Energie-, sondern auch im Verkehrs- und Bausektor, wie Matthias Miersch erklärt hat. Die Ergebnisse sollen in einem engen Zeitfenster bis Ende 2018 vorliegen, inklusive eines „Aktionsprogramms“ mit Maßnahmen zur Deckung der Klimaschutzlücke. Diese sollen dann in dem für 2019 geplanten Klimaschutzgesetz verabschiedet werden. Ein solch umfangreiches Mandat überschreitet den gängigen Zuständigkeitsbereich von Expertenkommissionen erheblich und lässt somit an der Effektivität der geplanten Runde zweifeln.

Erinnert sei hier nur an die jahrelangen erfolglosen Versuche der Konsenssuche durch mehrere, breit aufgestellte „Energiekonsensrunden“ Anfang der 1990er Jahre unter der Regierung Kohl. Damals stand die Atomfrage im Vordergrund, Ziel war es, zu einem gemeinsamen Verständnis für die weitere Energiepolitik zu kommen. Schließlich nahm Gerhard Schröder nach seiner Wahl zum Bundeskanzler 1998 die Sache selbst in die Hand und verhandelte den Atomausstieg in kleinem Kreis mit den Atomkonzernen. Angela Merkel nutzte die Ethik-Kommission 2011 vor allem dazu, ihre bereits getroffene Entscheidung zur Rücknahme der Laufzeitverlängerung politisch zu legitimieren und durchzusetzen.

Eine Kommission mit ausuferndem Mandat

Im Unterschied dazu will die jetzige Sondierungs-GroKo offenbar gleich die eigentliche Regierungsarbeit an die Kommission delegieren. In der letzten Legislaturperiode war die Erarbeitung und Koordinierung eines Maßnahmenpakets zur Erreichung der Klimaziele noch der Job des Bundesumweltministeriums.  Zwar ist es gut und richtig, eine Experten-Kommission einzusetzen. Denn damit kann für strittige Themen ein Ort für einen strukturierten politischen Dialog und damit für Interessensausgleich geschaffen werden, etwa bei der Kohleausstiegsfrage. Allerdings gilt auch: Damit eine solche Kommission erfolgreich sein kann, braucht es ein klares und im vorgesehenen Zeitfenster bearbeitbares Mandat, die richtige Zusammensetzung der Kommissionsmitglieder und eine effektive Arbeitsweise. Das Design einer solchen Kommission will also gut durchdacht sein.

Die „Verschieberitis“ von klimapolitischer Verantwortung auf eine Kommission hat Ursachen. Sie fußt vor allem auf der Schwierigkeit, nötige Mehrheiten für die zentralen, politisch heiklen Gestaltungsfragen der Energiewende zu gewinnen. Dabei stehen verteilungspolitisch sensible Fragen auf der Agenda, deren Diskussion erst zaghaft begonnen hat. Wer muss mehr und wer weniger für Energie bezahlen? Wer erhält finanzielle Förderung? Wer verliert seinen Arbeitsplatz, welche Geschäftsmodelle haben noch bestand? Dazu kommt, dass immer mehr Akteure mit diversen Interessen in den politischen Prozess involviert sind. Insofern ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass eines der zentralen Reformthemen der Energiewende, nämlich der Umbau des Umlagen- und Entgeltsystems, im Sondierungspapier gar nicht erst auftaucht.

Sensible politische Themen brauchen Akzeptanz

Sei es bei der Strom- oder der hinterherhinkenden Wärme- oder Verkehrswende: die Klimapolitik berührt zentrale Lebensbereiche aller Bürgerinnen und Bürger wie Wohnen, Mobilität und Ernährung. Und diese anzupacken ist politisch riskant – für alle Parteien. Auch der klimapolitisch sinnvolle „Veggie-Day“ der Grünen verschwand schnell wieder von der Bildfläche,  nachdem es massiven öffentlichen Gegenwind für diesem Vorschlag gab.

Um die Menschen bei Klimaschutz und Energiewende mitzunehmen, muss der politische Prozess breit, offen und auch unter Einbeziehung von Verbänden, politischen Entscheidungsträgern, Unternehmen und Bürgerinnen und Bürgern  jenseits des klassischen Energie- und Klimaspektrums geführt werden.  Die Bundesregierung sollte dabei auch das Gerechtigkeitsempfinden der Bevölkerung ernst nehmen und in ihrer Entscheidungsfindung berücksichtigen. Im Sozialen Nachhaltigkeitsbarometer der Energiewende 2017 haben wir am IASS im Rahmen des Kooperationsprojekts dynamis Daten erhoben, die zeigen, dass es zwischen Regierungspraxis und Präferenzen der Bevölkerung deutliche Differenzen gibt, etwa im Hinblick auf die Finanzierung der Energiewende. Ein Großteil der Bürgerinnen und Bürger hat nur wenig Vertrauen in die Lösungskompetenz der politischen Parteien bei der Energiewende. Und etwa ein Viertel der deutschen Bevölkerung fühlt sich bei dem Thema politisch nicht gut repräsentiert.

Die nächste Bundesregierung – gleich welcher Couleur – täte also gut daran, das Mandat einer Kommission enger zu schnüren.  Ansonsten droht eine solche Kommission zu einer Dauereinrichtung zu werden, bei der es nicht gelingt, die nötigen tragfähigen Konsense zu schnüren. Um gesamtgesellschaftlich überzeugende Lösungen für mehr Klimaschutz auf den Weg zu bringen, kann die Kommission einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten. Einen politischen Prozess dazu kann sie aber nicht ersetzen. Dazu stehen die demokratisch gewählten politischen Entscheidungsträger in Bund und Land in der Verantwortung. Und diese sollten sie auch tatkräftig annehmen.

Dieser Beitrag erschien am 29. Januar 2018 im Tagesspiegel Background Energie und Klima.

Neuen Kommentar schreiben

Hier ist nur eine externe URL zulässig, z.B. http://example.com
CAPTCHA This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions. Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.