Headline: Sustainability in Brandenburg

From the energy transition to water protection: Brandenburg is facing major sustainability challenges. As a Potsdam institute, the IASS is actively involved in sustainability work in Brandenburg.

 

With a population of just 2.5 million people inhabiting an area of 29,476 square kilometres, the state of Brandenburg is one of the least populated states in Germany. Brandenburg is also the state with the largest total area of water in Germany and is significantly rural in character: roughly 45 percent of its land area is used for agriculture, with around 5,300 farming enterprises operated in the state in 2016. Other major economic sectors are the steel, automotive and chemical industries, as well as the energy sector, media, and tourism.

Like many other states in Germany, Brandenburg faces a range of sustainability challenges including: the transformation of agricultural systems, the energy and traffic transitions, the pursuit of a just transition in the former coal district of Lusatia, adapting its cities and infrastructure to climate change, rural revitaliza-tion, the post-pandemic economic recovery, and the management and protection of water resources.

The energy transition and the phase-out of brown coal mining in Lusatia are the focus of particularly intense debate in Brandenburg as both will result in far-reaching social and structural change in the af-fected areas. Ensuring that these transformations are sustainable, democratic, and equitable is a chal-lenge for actors at all levels. Throughout its course this process will be influenced by diverse factors, including cooperative relationships and tensions within the economy and society at the regional level, national and international political frameworks, historical legacies and the pull of current trends.

Wind energy plays a significant role in Brandenburg, which is one of the three strongest wind energy states in the country. Ensuring that the expansion of wind energy infrastructure is both successfully and equitable will require intensive dialogue and transparency to secure broad public backing.

The establishment of a gigafactory in Brandenburg by American electric vehicle and clean energy com-pany Tesla cannot go unmentioned here as it has triggered heated debate among the citizens of Bran-denburg about economic growth and nature conservation as well as water and energy consumption. The fact that Tesla has opted to build its plant in Brandenburg is also an indication of the region’s appeal for post-fossil industries.

Brandenburg’s state government is actively engaging with these issues and adopted its first sustainability strategy in 2014. The strategy established five priorities for action: (i) Economy and employment in the Berlin-Brandenburg capital region, (ii) Liveable villages and cities, (iii) Brandenburg as a model region for the energy transition and climate adaptation, (iv) Sustainable financial policy, and (v) Education and sustainable development.

Four years later, in 2018, a progress report was published, revisiting these priorities for action and ex-amining implementation efforts. In 2019, the state sustainability strategy was updated. In particular, the strategy was aligned with the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) adopted by the United Nations (UN) in 2015 so that developments in the state of Brandenburg can be compared with progress at the national and international levels. In addition, the implementation of the sustainability strategy was more precisely specified. In order to promote the involvement of civil society – a goal previously identified in the 2018 progress report – the Brandenburg Sustainability Platform was subsequently launched.

The coalition agreement that was officially concluded in November 2019 commits the state government to a complete overhaul of the sustainability strategy. It also stipulated that a Sustainability Advisory Board be convened, which was subsequently appointed by Minister President Dietmar Woidke in Febru-ary 2021. The board consists of six representatives from the fields of science, youth, and business. In its role as an advisory body, the board has been granted hearing and proposal rights. The board itself is supervised by the State Chancellery, signalling a strong commitment to sustainable development in Brandenburg and the future development of the sustainability strategy.

The project “Social Structural Change and Responsive Policy Advice in Lusatia”, funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), accompanies the transformation process unfolding in this former mining district in Brandenburg. The interdisciplinary research group aims to identify the limits to and potentials for a cooperative approach to structural change. IASS researchers identify development pathways together with affected actors and offer guidance to policymakers, administrative bodies, and civil society.

Based in Potsdam, the IASS is actively involved in efforts to foster sustainable development in Branden-burg. The IASS takes part in numerous events in the state capital with the aim of entering into dialogue with citizens and drawing attention to the work of the Institute. It also cooperates with various schools and citizen dialogues in Potsdam on a variety of topics addressed in its research activities.

In addition, the IASS provides expertise to support the work of the state government and conducts re-search on the sustainability challenges the state will face in the future.

The Brandenburg Sustainability Platform

The Brandenburg Sustainability Platform was founded in 2019 and is funded by the Ministry of Agricul-ture, Environment and Climate Protection (MLUK). The aim of the platform is to provide an active com-munication forum and a lively network for sustainability initiatives in the state. By bringing regional initia-tives together, the platform creates synergies that can be used to promote sustainable development in Brandenburg. The platform also provides a forum for practitioners to share their experiences and ena-bles initiatives to learn from each other.

As part of its work, the platform communicates the concerns and wishes of the public to key regional actors in politics, business and society and facilitates their consideration in the central processes for the future development of the state’s sustainability strategy. The IASS hosts the platform’s secretariat, which coordinates its day-to-day business, maintains the platform’s website and organizes innovative network-ing opportunities as well as supporting various working groups and the steering group. You can find out more about the platform here.

The heart of the platform is a 23-member steering group made up of representatives from local govern-ment, science, civil society, youth, and business. A steering group coordinates the work of the platform and sets its thematic priorities. The platform spans five thematic working groups that focus on critical future sustainability challenges facing the state of Brandenburg.

These working groups are:

  • Framework conditions for the transformation towards greater sustainability (with a particular fo-cus on water and adaptation to climate change).
  • Sustainable digitalization
  • Participation
  • Quality of life and civic spirit
  • Sustainable communities

A working group focussed on small- and medium-sized businesses and sustainability is currently being established. The working groups are open to all interested persons.

Initiatives can join the platform’s network on https://plattform-bb.de. Inquiries should be directed to the secretariat via nachhaltigkeitsplattform@iass-potsdam.de.

The Brandenburg Sustainability Advisory Board

The Advisory Board supports the state government in its efforts to update Brandenburg’s sustainability strategy, provides scientific expertise to policymakers and government agencies on issues around sus-tainable development and works closely with the Sustainability Platform to foster broad civil society par-ticipation. IASS Scientific Director Ortwin Renn chairs the panel of six experts. In its first phase (2021-2022), the Advisory Board will focus on two topics: a resilient post-pandemic recovery, focussing on digitalisation as well as life, learning and working in urban and rural areas, and the implementation of the energy transition in Brandenburg, with a particular focus on zero-carbon industrial processes. You can find out more about the Advisory Board here.

Social structural change in Lusatia

As the coal-mining industry winds down in Lusatia, the region is losing not just an important economic sector, but also a cornerstone of its identity. What does this loss mean for Lusatia? How can it be turned into an opportunity for sustainable living and working? And how can we pave the way to this goal? These questions lie at the heart of this IASS project.

The team’s transformative research practice addresses three critical issues:

  • What forms of cooperation are conducive to democratic structural change in Lusatia and how can local knowledge be harnessed for this purpose?
  • How do national and international policy frameworks, for example in relation to climate protec-tion, influence this transformation process?
  • How can tensions between the economic and democratic spheres be addressed to promote a transformation that is both fair and sustainable?

Find out more about this research project here.

Headline: Nachhaltigkeit in Brandenburg

Von der Energiewende zum Gewässerschutz: Brandenburg steht vor großen Nachhaltigkeitsherausforderungen. Das IASS beteiligt sich als Potsdamer Institut aktiv an der Nachhaltigkeitsarbeit in Brandenburg.

 

Das Land Brandenburg, mit seiner Landeshauptstadt Potsdam, ist mit einer Einwohnerzahl von 2.5 Millionen Menschen auf einer Fläche von 29.476 Quadratkilometern eines der bevölkerungsärmsten Bundesländer in Deutschland. Brandenburg ist das zudem das gewässerreichste Land in der Bundesrepublik und ist ländlich geprägt: Rund 45 Prozent seiner Fläche werden landwirtschaftlich genutzt und ca. 5300 Betriebe waren 2016 in der Landwirtschaft tätig. Andere wichtige Wirtschaftszweige sind die Stahl-, Auto- und Chemieindustrie sowie der Energiesektor, Medien und Tourismus.

Brandenburg steht – wie viele Bundesländer – vor großen Nachhaltigkeitsherausforderungen: Agrarwende, Energiewende, Mobilitätswende, Transformation der Lausitz, Anpassung an den Klimawandel, Förderung der ländlichen Räume, Wiederbelebung der Wirtschaft nach der Corona-Pandemie und Wasserversorgung und Gewässerschutz seien hier beispielhaft genannt.

Insbesondere die Energiewende und das damit verbundene Ende des Braunkohleabbaus in der Lausitz werden in Brandenburg stark diskutiert, weil sie zu einem tiefgreifenden Strukturwandel in den betroffenen Regionen führen. Diesen Strukturwandel effektiv und nachhaltig sowie demokratisch und gerecht zu gestalten, ist eine Herausforderung für Akteure auf allen Ebenen. Regionale Kooperations- und Konfliktbeziehungen in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft, der nationale und internationale politische Rahmen, historische Prägungen und aktuelle Dynamiken sind nur einige der Dimensionen, die den anstehenden Wandel bedingen.

Auch die Windenergie spielt in Brandenburg eine große Rolle, das Land ist eines der drei stärksten Windenergieländer in Deutschland. Ein erfolgreicher und sozialverträglicher Ausbau der Windenergie erfordert einen intensiven Dialog, Transparenz und Akzeptanz in der Bevölkerung.

Nicht zuletzt sei die Ansiedlung einer Gigafactory des Autobauers Tesla in Brandenburg erwähnt, die heftige Diskussionen über Wirtschaftswachstum, Naturschutz sowie Wasser- und Energieverbrauch unter den Brandenburgerinnen und Brandenburgern auslöste.

Die Landesregierung nimmt sich dieser Themen aktiv an und hat im Jahr 2014 ihre erste Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie verabschiedet. In der Strategie sind fünf Handlungsschwerpunkte gesetzt: (i) Wirtschaft und Arbeit in der Hauptstadtregion Berlin-Brandenburg, (ii) Lebenswerte Dörfer und Städte, (iii) Brandenburg als Modellregion für Energiewende und Klimaanpassung, (iv) Zukunftsfähige Finanzpolitik sowie (v) Bildung und Nachhaltige Entwicklung.

Vier Jahre später, im Jahr 2018, wurde ein Fortschrittsbericht zur Umsetzung der Landesnachhaltigkeitsstrategie veröffentlicht, der die Handlungsschwerpunkte erneut aufgreift. Im Jahr 2019 wurde die Landesnachhaltigkeitsstrategie fortgeschrieben. Insbesondere wurde die Strategie an die 2015 auf globaler Ebene verabschiedeten Nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele (Sustainable Development Goals – SDGs) der Vereinten Nationen (UN) angepasst, so dass die Entwicklungen im Land Brandenburg mit der nationalen und internationalen Ebene vergleichbar sind. Außerdem wurde die Umsetzung der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie weiter konkretisiert. Um die schon 2018 geforderte Einbeziehung der Zivilgesellschaft zu fördern, wurde ein neues Projekt - die Nachhaltigkeitsplattform Brandenburg - ins Leben gerufen.

Mit dem Koalitionsvertrag, der im November 2019 offiziell unterzeichnet wurde, verpflichtet sich die Landesregierung zur vollständigen Überarbeitung der Landesnachhaltigkeitsstrategie. Zudem legte sie die Wiedereinberufung eines Nachhaltigkeitsbeirates fest, der im Februar 2021 durch Ministerpräsident Dietmar Woidke ernannt wurde. Er besteht aus sechs Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus Wissenschaft, Jugend und Wirtschaft. Der Beirat ist mit Befassungs- und Anhörungsrechten sowie Vorschlagsrechten ausgestattet. Er wird durch die Staatskanzlei des Landes koordiniert – ein starkes Signal für die nachhaltige Entwicklung in Brandenburg und die Weiterentwicklung der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie.

Das IASS beteiligt sich als Potsdamer Institut aktiv an der Nachhaltigkeitsarbeit in Brandenburg. Zum einen bringt sich das IASS in zahlreiche Veranstaltungen der Landeshauptstadt ein, um so in den Dialog mit Einwohnerinnen und Einwohnern zu treten und die Arbeit des Institutes bekannt zu machen. Zudem gibt es Kooperationen mit Potsdamer Schulen und Bürgerdialoge zu den unterschiedlichen Themen, die das IASS erforscht. Zum anderen stellt das IASS sein Fachwissen zur Verfügung, um die Arbeit der Landesregierung zu unterstützen, und forscht zu den Nachhaltigkeitsherausforderungen, denen sich das Land in der Zukunft stellen muss.

Die Nachhaltigkeitsplattform Brandenburg

Die Nachhaltigkeitsplattform Brandenburg wurde 2019 gegründet und wird vom Ministerium für Landwirtschaft, Umwelt und Klimaschutz (MLUK) finanziert. Ziel der Plattform ist es ein aktives Kommunikationsforum und ein lebendiges Netzwerk für die vielfältigen Nachhaltigkeitsinitiativen im Land zu bieten. Durch die Vernetzung von regionalen Initiativen werden Synergieeffekte sichtbar, die es zu nutzen gilt, um so die Bemühungen um ein nachhaltiges Brandenburg voranzubringen. Zusätzlich bietet die Plattform ein Forum für den Austausch von Erfahrungen, um ein „voneinander Lernen“ der Initiativen zu ermöglichen.

Anliegen und Wünsche aus der Region können über die Arbeit der Plattform an die zentralen Akteure aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft herangetragen sowie in die zentralen Prozesse zur Weiterentwicklung der Landesnachhaltigkeitsstrategie einbezogen werden. Die Geschäftsstelle der Nachhaltigkeitsplattform ist am IASS angesiedelt. Sie koordiniert die tägliche Arbeit der Plattform, betreut die thematischen Arbeitsgruppen und die Steuerungsgruppe, entwickelt die Webseite und sowie innovative Formate zur Vernetzung. Mehr Informationen zur Plattform finden Sie hier.

Herzstück der Plattform ist eine 23-köpfige Steuerungsgruppe aus Vertreterinnen und Vertretern von Kommunen, Wissenschaft, Zivilgesellschaft, Jugend und Wirtschaft. Sie lenkt die Arbeit der Plattform und setzt deren Themenschwerpunkte. Des Weiteren vertieft die Plattform ihre Arbeit in fünf thematischen Arbeitsgruppen, die die Zukunftsthemen für Nachhaltigkeit im Land ausleuchten.

Diese Arbeitsgruppen sind:

  • Rahmenbedingungen der Transformation zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit. Hier werden insbesondere das Thema Wasser und Anpassung an den Klimawandel diskutiert.
  • Nachhaltige Digitalisierung
  • Beteiligung
  • Lebensqualität und Gemeinsinn
  • Nachhaltige Kommunen

Eine weitere Arbeitsgruppe zu mittelständischer Wirtschaft und Nachhaltigkeit ist im Aufbau. Beteiligung an den Arbeitsgruppen ist für alle Interessierten offen.

Unter https://plattform-bb.de haben Initiativen die Möglichkeit, Mitglied zu werden und sich zu vernetzen. Für Fragen steht die Geschäftsstelle unter der E-Mail nachhaltigkeitsplattform@iass-potsdam.de zur Verfügung.

Der Nachhaltigkeitsbeirat Brandenburg

Der Beirat unterstützt die Landesregierung bei der Weiterentwicklung der Landesnachhaltigkeitsstrategie, bietet politik- und anwendungsorientierte Expertise zu den Nachhaltigkeitsthemen des Landes und arbeitet eng mit der Nachhaltigkeitsplattform zusammen, um so eine breite Beteiligung der Zivilgesellschaft zu gewährleisten. IASS-Direktor Ortwin Renn ist Vorsitzer des sechsköpfigen Gremiums. In der Phase von 2021 bis 2022 liegt der Schwerpunkt der Arbeit auf zwei Themen: der resilienten Erneuerung nach der Corona-Krise mit den Schwerpunkten Digitalisierung sowie Leben, Lernen und Arbeiten, auch im ländlichen Raum, sowie der Umsetzung der Energiewende in Brandenburg mit dem Fokus auf CO2-freien Industrieprozessen. Mehr Informationen zum Beirat finden Sie hier.

Sozialer Strukturwandel in der Lausitz

Mit dem Ende des Kohleabbaus verliert die Lausitz nicht nur einen wichtigen Wirtschaftszweig, sondern auch einen identitätsstiftenden Fixpunkt. Was bedeutet dieser Verlust, wie kann er zu einer Chance für nachhaltiges Leben und Arbeiten werden und wie kann der Weg dahin gestaltet werden? Dazu forscht und berät dieses IASS-Projekt.

Drei praxisorientierte Fragen strukturieren die transformative Forschung des Teams:

  • Wie können Kooperationen in der Lausitz im Sinne eines demokratischen Strukturwandels gestaltet werden und welche Rolle spielt lokales Wissen darin?
  • Wie prägen überregionale Rahmensetzungen, zum Beispiel in der Klimapolitik, den Lausitzer Strukturwandel?
  • Wie lassen sich Spannungen zwischen ökonomischen und demokratischen Arenen für einen gerechten und nachhaltigen Wandel bearbeiten?

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt erhalten Sie hier.