General Assembly

The General Assembly is the supervisory body of the IASS. Its members include the institute’s two funding bodies, i.e. the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the Brandenburg Ministry of Science, Research and Culture (MWFK), major German academic and research institutions as well as individuals from science and science policy. Prof. Dr Karin Lochte is the current chair of the IASS General Assembly.

The General Assembly monitors the legality, appropriateness and cost efficiency of the actions of the Board of Directors. It decides on the general research goals of the institute and important matters relating to its research policy and financing. The General Assembly appoints the members of the Board of Directors and the Advisory Board. On the suggestion of the Board of Directors, it further appoints the Managing Scientific Director and his/her deputy.



Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Karin Lochte

Vice Chair

Dr. Karl Eugen Huthmacher
Federal Ministry for Education and Research: Section Provision for the Future - Basic and Sustainability Research

Dr.-Ing. e.h. Bernd Pischetsrieder
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Jörg Hacker
Prof. Dr. Peter M. Herzig
Dr. Johann Komusiewicz
former Under-Secretary of State
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Kleiner
President of the Leibniz Association
Prof. Dr. Martin Stratmann
President of the Max Planck Society
Dr. Ulrike Gutheil
Prof. Dr. Oliver Günther
President of the University of Potsdam
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Ernst Theodor Rietschel