Governance

Establishing enabling environments is critical to putting societies on a pathway towards sustainable development. Politicians, citizens, businesses, and civil society organizations all play a role in the negotiations leading to sustainable transformations.
 
The IASS studies and supports governance processes that aim to deliver broad improvements in the quality of life and to ensure that planetary resources are used sustainably. Researchers at the IASS analyse existing governance frameworks such as the Paris Climate Change Agreement and study the impacts of their implementation across the dimensions of ecological, social and economic sustainability. This research includes analyses of the dynamics at play within the UNFCCC climate regime following the adoption of the Paris Agreement and of the social impacts of processes of large-scale structural change such as the decarbonisation of the energy system.
 
Research conducted at the IASS also considers the respective roles of various forms of participation – including citizen participation, participative management and protest – in shaping governance frameworks and contributing to the resolution of conflicts. What impact does participation have on decision-making processes? And, vice versa: How do political structures, processes, ideas and efforts to foster societal change affect different forms and areas of participation?
 
IASS researchers also contribute to transnational policymaking processes pertaining to the Arctic Region and sustainable ocean and soil governance by providing science-based policy advice and analyses developed in dialogue with stakeholders and other actors. These reciprocal learning processes also provide an important space for researchers to reflect on the role of science in transformations towards sustainability.

Governance

Um die Umwelt und menschliche Lebenswelten nachhaltig zu gestalten, braucht es entsprechende Rahmenbedingungen. Diese werden zunehmend zwischen Politikern, Bürgern, Unternehmen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen ausgehandelt.
 
Das IASS untersucht und begleitet Governance-Prozesse, die auf eine nachhaltige Nutzung planetarer Ressourcen und ein gutes Leben abzielen. Zum einen nehmen die Wissenschaftler bestehende Rahmenwerke wie das Pariser Klimaabkommen in den Blick und untersuchen ihren Inhalt sowie die praktische Umsetzung auf ökologische, soziale und ökonomische Nachhaltigkeitseffekte hin. Dabei analysieren sie zum Beispiel die neuen Dynamiken des UNFCCC-Klimaregimes nach dem Paris-Abkommen oder die Sozialverträglichkeit von großen Strukturveränderungen wie der Energiewende.
 
Zum anderen wird erforscht, welche Rolle verschiedene Formen der Teilhabe – zum Beispiel Bürgerbeteiligung, wirtschaftliche Mitbestimmung oder aber Protest – in der Ausgestaltung von Rahmenwerken und im Austragen von Konflikten haben. Welchen Einfluss hat Teilhabe in der Entscheidungsfindung? Und umgekehrt: Wie verändern politische Strukturen, Prozesse und Inhalte, die auf gesellschaftlichen Wandel hinwirken sollen, verschiedene Formen und Bereiche der Teilhabe?
 
Darüber hinaus beteiligt sich das IASS auch selbst an transnationaler Politik. So bringt sich das Institut in die politische Gestaltung der Governance von Ozeanen, Böden und der Arktis ein und begleitet diese wissenschaftlich. Dabei wird bestehendes Wissen im Dialog mit beteiligten Akteuren ergänzt und weiterentwickelt. Ziel ist ein gemeinsamer Lernprozess, bei dem das IASS auch die Rolle der Wissenschaft reflektiert.

Seiten