Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies

The Potsdam Nobel Laureates Symposium “Global Sustainability – A Nobel Cause” brought together internationally renowned scientists and decision-makers under the patronage of German Chancellor Dr Angela Merkel in 2007. The symposium produced the highly regarded Potsdam Memorandum, which calls for a joint effort to tap into “all sources of innovation and invention” to meet the challenges of the twenty-first century. Specifically, it identifies the need for a new “global contract” to increase sustainability in the age of the Anthropocene.

From this starting point, representatives of the German Science Alliance developed a concept for a novel research institute in 2008, from which the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS) emerged. The IASS was officially founded in 2009 as a joint initiative of the German Federal Government, the Federal State of Brandenburg and the research organisations of the German Science Alliance. Potsdam was chosen as the location for the institute due to its excellent research landscape with world-class research institutions such as the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK) and the Helmholtz Centre Potsdam - GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences, as well as its close proximity to politics, media and non-governmental organisations in Berlin.

In its research the IASS aims to merge all relevant types of knowledge – both within and outside science – in order to jointly find solutions that help us initiate, support and scientifically accompany the transformation to sustainable development. In accordance with its mission, the IASS involves a wide range of stakeholders from all parts of society in a transdisciplinary process with the goal of developing solutions, and it does not view these stakeholders as mere addressees of the institute’s findings at the end of the research process. Our transdisciplinary research processes are based on excellent disciplinary and interdisciplinary research; at the same time, the questions they raise and the results they produce feed into such research. The IASS does not merely work to create the knowledge needed for action; it also discusses its findings with representatives of politics, industry and civil society and furthers the transformation process through this kind of consultation.

The Governing Bodies of the Association are the General Assembly, the Board of Directors and the Advisory Board.

Articles of Association of the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies e.V. (IASS) (PDF)

Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies

Das Potsdamer Nobelpreisträger-Symposium „Global Sustainability – A Nobel Cause“, das 2007 internationale Spitzenforscher und Entscheidungsträger unter der Schirmherrschaft von Bundeskanzlerin Dr. Angela Merkel zusammenführte, hat in dem daraus resultierenden viel beachteten Potsdam Memorandum zu einer gemeinsamen Anstrengung „alle[r] Quellen unseres Erfindungsreichtums“ aufgerufen, um die Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts anzugehen. Konkret wurde ein neuer „globaler Pakt“ gefordert, um den Herausforderungen für mehr Nachhaltigkeit im Zeitalter des Anthropozäns zu begegnen.

Von diesem Ausgangspunkt haben Vertreter der Wissenschaftsallianz 2008 das Konzept für ein neuartiges Forschungsinstitut entwickelt, aus dem das „Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies“ (IASS) hervorgegangen ist. Die offizielle Gründung des IASS als gemeinschaftliche Initiative der Bundesregierung, des Landes Brandenburg und der Forschungsorganisationen der Wissenschaftsallianz erfolgte 2009. Potsdam wurde aufgrund der exzellenten Forschungslandschaft, mit Spitzenforschungseinrichtungen wie dem Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK) und dem Helmholtz-Zentrum Potsdam Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum (GFZ), und der räumlichen Nähe zu Politik, Medien und Verbänden in der Bundeshauptstadt als Standort des Instituts ausgewählt.

Der Forschungsansatz am IASS zielt darauf ab, möglichst alle relevanten Formen des Wissens innerhalb und außerhalb der Wissenschaft zusammenzuführen, um gemeinsam das Handlungswissen für geeignete Lösungen zu finden und die notwendige Transformation hin zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung zu initiieren, zu unterstützen und wissenschaftlich zu begleiten. Das IASS bezieht entsprechend seinem Leitbild die relevanten, verschiedenen gesellschaftlichen Akteure in einem transdisziplinären Prozess der wissenschaftlichen Erarbeitung von Lösungen mit ein und betrachtet sie nicht erst am Ende des Forschungsprozesses als Adressaten seiner Ergebnisse. Unsere transdisziplinären Forschungsprozesse bauen auf exzellenter disziplinärer und interdisziplinärer Forschung auf und ermöglichen darüber hinaus die Entwicklung neuer Fragestellungen und deren umfassende Ausarbeitung für die disziplinäre und interdisziplinäre Wissenschaft. Das IASS bleibt aber nicht bei der Generierung des Handlungswissens stehen, sondern bringt die Ergebnisse in den Diskurs mit Politik, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft ein und befördert durch diese Beratungsleistung den weiteren Transformationsprozess.

Die Organe des Vereins sind die Mitgliederversammlung, der Vorstand und der Beirat.